Discussion Board

Best practices for images and resources files

Dear all,
    I'm very new to J2ME programming and so have little understanding of minimising application size. I'm currently developing and an application that uses xml files to store paths to images that are to be displayed in a gallery. It also uses xml to store other static information. Are there more efficient ways of doing this, as I'm becoming aware that as I add to the xml files, and the image directory, the app is becoming (unsurprisingly) larger.

As a matter of interest what is an acceptable size for a mobile phone application?

Angus

Super Contributor

Re: Best practices for images and resources files

"Acceptable size" is defined by a number of factors.

1. Some devices impose fixed limits on the size of JAR you can install. Series 40s, for example, do; Series 60s do not. Limits vary from device to device. Some old black-and-white devices have limits as low as 30k. Early (MIDP-1.0) Series 40s have a 64k limit. High-end Series 40s usually have a 1Mb limit. You can check the device specifications for this information.

2. Some distribution channels may impose limits. If you're planning to sell your app through an app store (such as Ovi), check for any limits.

3. Think about how long it will take to download your app. Longer download times make it more likely to get a signal drop-out during the download. Think also about cost. If users will download on a 2G network, I'd recommend you keep your app below 300k (well below, if the network doesn't support EDGE). For 3G, up to about 1Mb is sensible.

As some guidelines, a 300k JAR will download in around:

* 1.5 minutes, on GPRS
    * 20 seconds on EDGE
    * 10 seconds on 3G

How many images do you have, and in what format(s)? What size are they (in both pixels and bytes)?

XML files have the benefit that they compress quite well when added to the JAR.

Graham.

Dear Graham,