×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: COD 2 JAD

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    COD 2 JAD

    Hello All,

    First of all sorry for that I am posting my thread here relevant to Blackberry but I know you guys are not finite to J2ME only.
    I have to upload one build on Blackberry device by OTA for this I needed COD and JAD (relevant to COD only) file. At first I had JAD and JAR for my title then I have created COD from JAR but now I got stuck to create JAD relvent to COD only. At that point some of you guys might be mix up about JAD so that I would like to explain about JAD which I am looking for. Lets see below typical JAD file relevant to JAR

    MicroEdition-Configuration: CLDC-1.1
    MicroEdition-Profile: MIDP-2.0
    MIDlet-Name: ${midlet_name}
    MIDlet-Version: 1.28.62
    MIDlet-Vendor: ${midlet_vendor}
    MIDlet-Icon: icon.png
    MIDlet-Jar-URL: ${midlet_jar}
    MIDlet-Jar-Size: 806943
    MIDlet-Data-Size: 2048
    MIDlet-1: ${midlet_name} icon.png,${midlet_name}
    MIDxlet-Network: N
    MIDlet-Description: ${midlet_desc}
    Content-Folder: Games
    RIM-MIDlet-Flags-1: 0
    Now lets have a look of JAD relevant to COD

    RIM-COD-SHA1-4: 55 7e 7a cd c2 2b eb 13 1d f3 ec 84 62 f6 72 88 f4 bb ec 3c
    RIM-COD-SHA1-3: aa b4 14 83 1c ed 8f c1 e5 dc 61 df 0f d7 22 85 87 3a 7a c3
    RIM-COD-SHA1-2: e9 2c d2 10 8e 30 fe ff eb 92 55 d1 9d e9 39 31 7a 98 69 57
    RIM-COD-URL-11: ${cod_name11}
    RIM-COD-SHA1-1: a3 06 ce 92 d4 55 47 6f 5a 17 c1 b1 f8 fe 53 9c 25 44 5e 24
    RIM-COD-URL-10: ${cod_name10}
    MIDlet-Icon: /icon.png
    MIDlet-Jar-Size: 665702
    MIDlet-Name: ${midlet_name}
    MIDlet-Jar-URL:${midlet_jar}
    MicroEdition-Configuration: CLDC-1.1
    RIM-COD-URL-9: ${cod_name9}
    RIM-COD-URL-8: ${cod_name8}
    RIM-COD-URL-7: ${cod_name7}
    RIM-COD-Module-Dependencies: net_rim_cldc
    RIM-COD-URL-6: ${cod_name6}
    RIM-COD-URL-5: ${cod_name5}
    RIM-COD-URL-4: ${cod_name4}
    RIM-COD-URL-3: ${cod_name3}
    RIM-COD-URL-2: ${cod_name2}
    RIM-COD-URL-1: ${cod_name1}
    RIM-COD-Size-9: 55524
    RIM-COD-Size-8: 53000
    RIM-COD-Size-7: 57884
    RIM-COD-Size-6: 57704
    RIM-COD-Size-5: 98084
    RIM-COD-Size-4: 82868
    RIM-COD-Size-3: 67760
    RIM-COD-Module-Name: ${midlet_name}
    RIM-COD-Size-2: 77752
    RIM-COD-Size-1: 78416
    RIM-COD-SHA1: db a1 34 b9 37 cd 90 2b e5 c3 d5 af ea b1 c2 f0 62 69 21 7f
    RIM-COD-Size: 103952
    MicroEdition-Profile: MIDP-2.0
    RIM-COD-Size-11: 83692
    RIM-COD-Size-10: 52816
    MIDlet-Vendor: ${midlet_vendor}
    MIDlet-1: ${midlet_name}, /icon.png, ${midlet_name}
    RIM-COD-URL:${cod_name}
    RIM-COD-SHA1-11: 77 a3 03 54 ab 4c 84 06 82 ef ed e8 11 83 82 b9 b5 d8 47 bd
    RIM-COD-SHA1-10: 18 aa d4 71 39 95 54 51 76 32 79 be 95 be 88 43 28 e7 10 90
    Manifest-Version: 1.0
    MIDlet-Version: 1.0.0
    RIM-COD-SHA1-9: 0b c4 d1 37 cf 93 eb 60 06 9f 45 a8 f3 a6 7d 8a 54 45 ec c9
    RIM-COD-SHA1-8: 32 7d 58 77 1d 0a 51 6b ae 4c 1f a7 30 9a 22 3d fa a8 1c c2
    Content-Folder: Games
    RIM-COD-SHA1-7: 51 db b2 7a b1 d5 95 62 e7 54 17 29 1d 5e 03 27 3e 71 9b bd
    RIM-COD-SHA1-6: cc 78 b5 dc f7 b0 fd a3 93 0b 32 39 3a b9 3f fa 11 9a 77 12
    RIM-COD-Creation-Time: 1265873360
    RIM-COD-SHA1-5: 46 9a ec 6b 5a 61 c3 1e 8b c7 71 f2 61 dc 6a fa b3 7f e1 9e

    Please don't get confuse with values both are from different titles. Hope it will be helpful to infer my problem but then again for any further clarification you can let me know.



    Amit
    Last edited by amit_yadav; 2011-12-10 at 12:01.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    84

    Thumbs up Re: COD 2 JAD

    So, you need to know how to create the appropriate JAD file?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    YES, I need the same.
    Like I have JAD and JAR for a particular application.
    Finally I needed a COD file and JAD file.
    Please refer my previous post on this thread for detail explanation or
    let me know if you wanna need something else...




    Amit

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    84

    Lightbulb Re: COD 2 JAD

    I think you not need to have the JAD file. If ur requirement is to install an Appln from OTA then just generate and submit the ALX file for the COD file.

    If you don't know how to create COD & ALX file just mail me to vinuk4u@gmail.com bcoz this's place for BlackBerry discussion.

    I think i've the right solution for you.

    Regards
    Vineeth.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    You can't install blackberry application on device through OTA by with combination of ALX and COD file.



    Amit

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    84

    Thumbs up Re: COD 2 JAD

    But we can install the COD file from an ALX file. In the ALX file define the location of the COD file in any server. for instance: http://mysite.com/m/myappln.cod
    Thus when the ALX file is used for installation, it'll be pointed to the COD file which is as OTA.

    Regards
    Vineeth K.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    ALX file comes in action when we try to download build using data cable. I have had tried what you are saying, its just open the COD file likewise we open binary file in editor rather than downloading. Ones you do it and let me know the device, afterwards i'll also try it at my place.


    Amit

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    84

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    I'll check the best way and let u know by tomorrow.

    Ok.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,085

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    You need the JAD file for OTA along with code.
    Best way to generate JAD file is import and rebuild the project in BB JDE.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    ALX files are only used for PUSH installation. You need a JAD for most forms of deployment.

    Compile the app with the RAPC tool (from the BlackBerry SDK), like:

    Code:
    rapc import=net_rim_api.jar codename=output.cod jad=input.jad -midlet input-1.java [ input-2.java ... ] 
    This should create the .cod, and update the .jad file.

    Probably easier is to use the bb-ant-tools in your Ant build script, using the <rapc> task.

    Graham.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    Hello Graham,
    YES,
    PHP Code:
    rapc import=net_rim_api.jar codename=output.cod jad=input.jad -midlet input-1.java input-2.java ... ] 
    The above command is creating COD file along with updating the existing JAD file what I exactly needed but then again its needed a .JAVA file(s, but what as I have mentioned that I am having a JAR file only, even I tried rapc command like,
    PHP Code:
    rapc.exe import="%BB_HOME%\lib\net_rim_api.jar" codename=DeviceInfo -midlet jad=DeviceInfo.jad DeviceInfo.jar 
    but with it my JAD file is not updating.

    And last but not the least, could you please let me know what is push installation ?
    Anyway thanks for your worthy reply.






    Amit.

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: COD 2 JAD

    Quote Originally Posted by amit_yadav View Post
    PHP Code:
    rapc.exe import="%BB_HOME%\lib\net_rim_api.jar" codename=DeviceInfo -midlet jad=DeviceInfo.jad DeviceInfo.jar 
    but with it my JAD file is not updating.
    That's because the output ("codename") is identical to the root name for the existing JAD. It won't update a JAD - it needs to create a new one.

    Try putting the input and output files in separate folders. Omit the JAD from the command line (make sure all the parameters you need in the JAD are in the JAR's MANIFEST).

    Code:
    rapc.exe import="%BB_HOME%\lib\net_rim_api.jar" codename=out/DeviceInfo -midlet in/DeviceInfo.jar
    Quote Originally Posted by amit_yadav View Post
    could you please let me know what is push installation ?
    "Push" installation occurs when an application is "pushed" to a BlackBerry device from a BlackBerry Enterprise Server. In this case, the installation is initiated by the server, not the phone. OTA installation is "pull" (initiated by the receiver of the data, the phone). It is unique to the BlackBerry system.

    For OTA installation, you shouldn't need to create a COD and an updated JAD. You can simply install a JAD and JAR. The BlackBerry Internet Service (a kind of web proxy service) will convert the JAR to a COD and update the JAD automatically during the download.

    Graham.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Thumbs up Re: COD 2 JAD

    Hello Graham,
    As usual you answered thoroughly, thank you very much!




    Amit.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing JAR through JAD
    By girdhar in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-09-18, 20:35
  2. COD and JAD clarification
    By munaf in forum Digital Rights Management & Content Downloading
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-10-09, 08:37
  3. 7650 JAD install Problems (V2.12 and V3.12)
    By piercer in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-08-18, 06:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×