×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    fit on screen on E series

    Hello!

    My application is image based, everything are on graphics, the menus, the selection etc.
    For that reason every time it starts it checks the size of the screen and draws everything accordingly.
    When the size isn't the default ratio (vertical:horizontal), it produced black on the right and left size that exceeds
    on E* nokia mobiles, it doesn't! When the application starts the first splash screen appears as the default, but only half of it (the rest is obvious in the unseen area under the actual screen).

    Is there a problem with java's getWidth() on E* nokia mobiles?

    Can i manually (by the phone settings) make the mobile to show the application in a "fit to screen" mode at least?

    thank you!
    Last edited by gtsarakt; 2010-04-16 at 12:52.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: fit on screen on E series

    the devices i had this problem were:
    E61
    E61i
    Ε71
    E71x
    E63

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: fit on screen on E series

    Does your application work on any devices with landscape screens?

    Do you use a Canvas in full-screen mode?

    Graham.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: fit on screen on E series

    It works normally in E90 in landscape. May be a little slow in the online device.

    My application takes the width and length of the screen, and then draws the part of it with what it wants, and the rest of the canvas draws it with a default color.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: fit on screen on E series

    Quote Originally Posted by gtsarakt View Post
    Is there a problem with java's getWidth() on E* nokia mobiles?
    What makes you suspect getWidth() rather than getHeight()?

    Quote Originally Posted by grahamhughes View Post
    Do you use a Canvas in full-screen mode?
    This would be useful to know.

    Especially, if you do this:

    Code:
    setFullScreenMode(true);
    height = getHeight();
    This kind of code works fine on some devices, but on others it returns the old (non-full-screen) height. This is because resizing is often handled through the event mechanism, so the height doesn't change until the resize event can be delivered.

    Graham.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: fit on screen on E series

    Indeed... based on the mistaken screen (before the application crash) seems like it has the wrong Height value.

    but no, i draw everything in the default mode, and later i upscale or downscale.

    I come to think that, that was the problem. I downscale when
    if (width<240 || height<320)
    and upscale when
    if (width>240 || height>320)

    the ratio of these mobiles made the bug uppear. Obviously i upscaled when i was supposed to downscale.


    I will check it!

    Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. Icons in s60
    By drizzt6 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-03-06, 09:32
  2. understanding series 30,40 vs. 60
    By hp3 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-11-06, 01:47
  3. Fit screen size on specific mobile devices
    By m1dp1d in forum Browsing and Mark-ups
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-11-14, 21:11
  4. Series 60 Concept SDK throws an unknown exception
    By sagee in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-02-27, 12:10
  5. Screen Rotation on Nokia 7650's and 9200 series
    By davidmiron in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-10-04, 12:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×