×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    130

    How to use Qt mobility?

    Hi,

    I don't know how to use Qt mobility api's with my Qt project.

    Can I simply use those headers in my project folder and continue using that or should I build and use.

    Any proper guidance will be very helpful for me.

    And Is there any specific Qt-mobility release for Qt4.6.2? Which Qt-mobility API suits in Qt4.6.2?

    Regards,
    Balaji
    Last edited by BalajiR; 2010-02-22 at 09:34.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    You can read all about Qt Mobility in project's home page http://labs.trolltech.com/page/Projects/QtMobility or in its blog http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/category/qtmobility/

    There you can find that a new release was made available last week and of course it is Qt 4.6.2 compatible. Details about what it contains can be found from the same sources.

    The download page is at http://qt.nokia.com/developer/new-qt-apis and as you can see the APIs come as source code, which means that you have to build them before being able to use them. Build instructions provided in the package.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    Hi,

    After I configured Qt, how can I start using it in my application. I am using Qt4.6.2 to develop applications. Now I downloaded and configured Qt-mobility and it seems this package will be configured with S60 when running make itself.

    I did
    Code:
    configure
    make debug-winscw
    (Note: nothing is inside the lib folder after configure and make. And when I open example qt-mobility project in carbide, some problem occured.
    Project ERROR: Please use the -examples configure switch to enable building of examples )

    Now how to configure this or use this with my Qt4.6.2. Should I configure using any command to integrate it with 4.6.2 or through IDE need to give anything.

    Please tell me how to go further to use these api's in my application.? Thanks

    Regards,
    Bala
    Last edited by BalajiR; 2010-03-26 at 07:55.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    31

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    I cannot comment on how to use it with Carbide but the straight forward command line way and how to incorporate Qt Mobility API's in your qmake project file please check out:

    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtmobility-1...uickstart.html

    The -examples error is related to the fact that you didn't configure mobility to use examples. You have to run "./configure -examples" to fix this problem. Mobility will use the Qt version to which your qmake belongs. Run qmake -v on the same command line your are running configure and it will tell you what Qt it will use. Minimum requirement is Qt 4.6 (any version will do).

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    I've gotten this far in trying to install Mobility for Symbian Carbide:

    -- Download the "sis" package (which is actually a zip file).
    -- Inside the zip file is a "install.txt" file that gives most of the install info.
    -- Navigate into the "install_to_sdk" folder inside the zip file and copy the appropriate-to-your-SDK inner zip file from there to your SDK directory (the one containing the epoc32 directory).
    -- Expand the zip file "here". It will update several directories in epoc32.
    -- Go back a level in the "sis" zip file and find the "mobility.prf" file. Copy it to the mkspecs/features directory inside your Qt/Symbian directory.
    -- Just for good measure, navigate into the "install_to_device" directory in the "sis" zip file and copy the sis file from there to your Qt/Symbian directory, alongside the other sis files -- where you can find it when you need it.

    What seems to be missing at this point is the Qt include files. How do I get those installed? I tried following the vanilla Mobility install instructions, but I can't get configure.bat to run.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    And looking at it a little deeper, I can't find any of the "system" header files (BiCapitalized, with no trailing ".h"). It appears that these are to be built as a part of the build operation (the one that we supposedly don't need to do to install for Symbian).

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    OK, apparently got configure to work by specifying both -prefix <QtDirectory> and -qt <QtDirectory>\bin. This built an include directory inside the mobility directory (contrary to what the configure help text implies), but it's not obvious that it's somehow linked it to the Qt directory. I suppose one must specify an INCLUDEPATH in the PRO file.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    Finally got a successful Carbide compile by adding the following to the PRO file:
    INCLUDEPATH += C:/QtSymbian/qt-mobility-src-1.0.0-beta1/include \
    C:/S60/devices/S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0/epoc32/include/applications
    LIBS += -lQtMessaging \
    -lQtBearer \
    -lQtContacts
    and prefixing the Mobility class names with the "QtMobility::" namespace designation.

    Apparently the ".h" includes dropped into epoc32/include/middleware get picked up by default, but not those dropped into epoc32/include/applications.

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    To get configure.bat to run for my windows config I had to first do
    Code:
    path = C:\QtWindows\2010.01\mingw\bin\;%PATH%
    and then run configure with the -prefix and -qt parms as before (only specifying my windows Qt dir rather than the Symbian one).

    Once again it built the system include directory in the Mobility directory, so an INCLUDEPATH is needed. Of course, don't know what to do about the .h includes yet -- probably 11 more INCLUDEPATH entries needed.

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    Well, I cheated and used Cygwin to create an 'includeh' directory of symlinks to the .h files, so that only one more INCLUDEPATH is needed.

    When I built Mobility under Creator it didn't create all of the DLLs, apparently (though it didn't report any errors). I have Bearer, Contacts, Location, Media, PublishSubscribe, Sensors, ServiceFramework, SystemInfo. No Messaging, no Versit.

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    These would have been easy:

    * Setting up environment for Qt Mobility API

    * Working with Carbide.c++ IDE for Qt Mobility APIs
    Which is why I was asking for a guide in another thread here.

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    * Setting up environment for Qt Mobility API
    When I try the equivalent with the Qt-for-Windows command prompt, the path for perl has been dropped, so it doesn't really work too well.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    46

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    Hi,

    I am trying to install QtMobility, I downloaded the zip hich is provided in forum.extracted in folder in which Qt is present.

    then I opnd cmd promt,

    then configure cmd.....

    it fails and the error is ... nmake or mingw32make or make not found....

    how to proced to install QtMobility...

    Thanks in advance
    Prathibha

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to use Qt mobility?

    WHICH command prompt? Did you use the Qt one?

Similar Threads

  1. Qt for Symbian development resources
    By liuxg in forum [Archived] Qt General ( Qt技术)
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 2011-01-26, 04:06
  2. Possibility of Qt Mobility API
    By Zhengtao in forum [Archived] Qt Mobility Project
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-03-15, 14:46
  3. kinetic scrolling
    By stalep in forum Nokia N9
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-12-08, 12:41
  4. Welcome to Qt Mobility forum
    By Jack Torrance in forum [Archived] Qt Mobility Project
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-12-02, 19:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×