Discussion Board

Best technology to build an inventory app for N97

Hi folks,
    I'm new to mobile development, though have a bit of hands on experience with webdev (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, XML)and would like some serious advice from the more experienced.

My scenario is as follows:

I own an N97 and work with my dad at his warehouse, and a few days ago I mentioned to him about going mobile on some tasks, such as inventory of the existing items as well as adding items.

We currently do it with pen and paper on a form and then enter the data manually into the sql db on his office pc.

Basically we'd like to be able to have an app that allows us to go aisle by aisle ticking off the items as we id them, and also be able to add/edit the lists and categorize the items accordingly. I have the details of navigation, itemization, etc, jotted down.

It doesn't sound like a fancy app but my question is basically about which technologies/tools for the symbian platform to use. Should I try building it as a WRT widget? Qt? C++? Java?

I must mention that I have downloaded and installed S60 SDK, Qt for Symbian and Windows, Carbide, Active Perl, AppTRK, OpenC/C++, etc.

Any serious advice will be extremely welcome.

PS: Please, don't recommend me to download any app that may be out there that could do the job. I would like to develop it myself. A pride thing, you know.

Thanks much.
    Last edited by rodangib; 2010-02-24 at 03:56. Reason: Forgot to add idea.

Regular Contributor

Re: Best technology to build an inventory app for N97

Because you have an SQL-Database on a PC, you might consider a solution that you can also use on the desktop. Qt was designed to create applications that run across different operating systems. I suggest either using Qt or WRT. If your current desktop solution already has a webinterface, it might be worth extending that to run on a small screen and then you could pack that into a WRT widget.