Discussion Board

What makes Qt cross platform ?

Hi,

What is the technology employed that makes Qt cross platform. I am new to Qt. I use Qt and C++. But since programs written are compiled to native code, how is it cross platform?
    I think its not using a virtual machine. That decision is really cool. And is it like I need to compile the program for different architecture separately?
    Thank You.

Super Contributor

Re: What makes Qt cross platform ?

This will be interesting for you:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross_platform

Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    This will be interesting for you:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross_platform
    alright, I got that!

Nokia Developer Champion

"Cross platform" is the holy (holey?) grail of computing -- the ability to "write once, run anywhere". The idea is not so much that there is no need to recompile/rebuild (though that is nice when it's achieved), but that the code does not need to be rewritten or extensively modified to move from one platform to another.

Like I said, the holy grail -- the effort goes back to COBOL, and even earlier. Back in them olden days it was quite a challenge, since some machines were decimal, some binary, some used EBCDIC, some BCD, some FieldData, some 6-bit TTY code, and, occasionally, ASCII. 4K of RAM was a big machine, and 64K was only seen in the really big shops.

There are a number of things that need to be done to achieve good cross-platform operation. First, the computational instructions need to be abstracted, smoothing over issues such as word side, byte order, 1s vs 2s complement, etc. Next the storage management and call/return facilities need to be abstracted, and the inter-module linkage facilities. Then the operating system and I/O interfaces need to be abstracted.