Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

publish as a freelance developer

You need a company ID to publish on the OVI store. In the UK if you are registered as a sole trader (self-employed), you get your unique tax ID, that's not strictly speaking a registered company (that would have to be a Limited Company), but YOU are registered as self-employed, and obviously you pay taxes.

There are two things I'd like to know:

1)I've read in several places that this type of business is accepted by the OVI store to publish, however it's not that clear either, just things I've read here and there from people, no confirmation. It's important for me to know that, as I am a feelance developer (registered as a sole trader in the UK, with tax ID), but have never published anything on any mobile platform. If anyone can shed some light, thanks.
    I also understand that you need a website, an email adress from the same domain, a logo, that's fine.

2)As for SymbianSigned and getting a Publisher ID, it also requires a registered company. But for this one I haven't found any hint saying that a freelance developer can go through. But I'm still hoping it would be possible somehow.

Thanks for letting me know.

Super Contributor

Re: publish as a freelance developer

Hi,

I got idea that (self-employed) shoudl be OK. It would be perfect to ask from Symbian Signed to make it sure. They want to trace the SW origian.
    Once some body has Publisher ID I think it will be easy to publish to Ovi.

Hi RomanAge

As far as I am aware, Publisher IDs are only distributed to registered companies and NOT sole traders. As I'm sure you're aware, you cannot express/certify sign your application without a valid Publisher ID. I'd recommend contacting the helpdesk at the TC Trustcenter (ID issuer) to avoid any further disappointment.

Cheers

Regular Contributor

Thank you for your answers.
    For Symbian publisher ID, I should be able to find out by contacting Symbian Signed.