Discussion Board

QFileWatcher problem

Hello,

I am new to QT programming. I am using QFileWatcher in my application and it working fine, but problem is I am getting notifications for all the files and directories including Hidden files and directoris. Is there any way to avoid notifications for hidden files in the phone...?

please can any one help me .....

regards,
    Manju

Super Contributor

Re: QFileWatcher problem

Quote Originally Posted by manjunath369 View Post
    Hello,

I am new to QT programming. I am using QFileWatcher in my application and it working fine, but problem is I am getting notifications for all the files and directories including Hidden files and directoris. Is there any way to avoid notifications for hidden files in the phone...?

please can any one help me .....

regards,
    Manju
    Do you mean QFileSystemWatcher? To avoid actions on hidden files in the slot attached to fileChanged signal
    you can use the following code:
    Code:
    QFileInfo info(fileName);
    if (info.isHidden())
        return;

Nokia Developer Moderator

Is't it so that fileChanged is triggered only for files I am expressly monitoring? Which means if the file is hidden I should not have it added to the watcher to begin with.

So is this really about avoiding fileChanged or directoryChanged signals for such files?
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    Is't it so that fileChanged is triggered only for files I am expressly monitoring?
    If you give a directoy as the path to watch, the QFileSystemWatcher monitors all files in that directory and it's subdirectories. The alternative is to add single files as the watched path.

Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    Which means if the file is hidden I should not have it added to the watcher to begin with.