Discussion Board

Question Find mobile location from web app

Hello,

I am new to mobile development. I am looking to develop a location based service. I have a few questions, would be great if someone can provide some inputs...

1) Can I find out the cellID of the nearest tower from a web application? Or is it only possible to gt that info from an app installed on the phone? Same wih GPS. Can I find out the location using GPS from a web application. I know that Google Buzz mobile app does have the ability to fetch the location info from a web app on iPhone. Not sure if the same can be acheieved on all phones.
    2) Will the method to find out the cellID vary from phone to phone? Is there any standard way all companies adopt which will make it easier for deelopers? I am looking only from the java perspective right now.
    3) any sample code would be great.

Thanks,
    Sharad

Super Contributor

Re: Find mobile location from web app

Quote Originally Posted by sharball View Post
    1) Can I find out the cellID of the nearest tower from a web application? Or is it only possible to gt that info from an app installed on the phone? Same wih GPS. Can I find out the location using GPS from a web application. I know that Google Buzz mobile app does have the ability to fetch the location info from a web app on iPhone. Not sure if the same can be acheieved on all phones.
    I'm assuming you mean an application running on a web server, access by the device's browser. There are applications of this kind that can determine where the phone is. However, this information is obtained from the network operator, and you need a close commercial relationship with individual operators to get this information.

2) Will the method to find out the cellID vary from phone to phone? Is there any standard way all companies adopt which will make it easier for deelopers? I am looking only from the java perspective right now.