×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    48

    'There is no device plugged in' error msg

    Hi, all -

    Trying to run through Alessandro's video presentation - everything has gone fine (apps, sdks, , up to the point of actually trying to debug on the device.

    When I go into debug, it complains: 'No device plugged in'.

    AppTRK indicates it is indeed connected (cable connection - port 1).

    This is on an N85.


    Also, a side question: the N85 is a 3rd Ed, rev 1 phone. Are the SDK's backwards compatible, I.E, can I use an 5th ed. SDK, or do I *have* to use the 3rd Ed, rev1 SDK for this phone?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    48

    Re: 'There is no device plugged in' error msg

    Huh.. Well, it's working, now.

    Question on backward compatibility still stands, though. Maybe I ask that somewhere else...

    UPDATE:

    Hmm. Not out of the woods, yet. Breakpoints aren't happenening. The 'Application Output' window indicates that the debugger is being launched, but it doesn't stop on set breakpoints.

    Is this maybe because I'm using SDK Ed 5 on a Ed 3, rev 1 phone?
    Last edited by rickbsgu; 2010-03-23 at 00:05.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    329

    Re: 'There is no device plugged in' error msg

    Hi,

    Does the debugging problem apply to all projects? Try creating a new GUI app (from a template) and set some breakpoints to it. If that works, then maybe simply a proper clean & rebuild will help.

    About SDKs: Qt is cross-platform, and that means also cross-s60-platform-version compatible. You should be fine as long as you stick to pure Qt and not use any symbian APIs specific to some s60 platform ver.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    48

    Re: 'There is no device plugged in' error msg

    This is a new project that was created under QtCreator. It is pure Qt, in this instance, but the latter is good information. I've cleaned and rebuilt it several times - no change.

    I tried doing this under carbide, too. It seems to have troubles, also. One issue in Carbide was that the connection was on port 10, even though TRK was reporting port 1. So I got it to talk in Carbide, but apparently I have to do some more package specification to get it to work on that side.

    But, when I went back to Creator, it now couldn't talk to TRK on port 10 (where apparently it was talking to it on port 1, prior. But no breakpoints.)

Similar Threads

  1. Reporting: downloads ./. device percentages
    By kaedinger in forum [Closed] Publishing to Nokia Store
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2010-03-04, 06:04
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-02-12, 14:20
  3. Unable to receive data from Bluetooth Device Via RFComm
    By kctan in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-06-15, 15:23
  4. What we want is a basic function device.
    By hendrysong in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-06, 04:02
  5. Bluetooth Security: What exactly is an untrusted device?
    By rahulmcs in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-12-02, 06:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×