Discussion Board

Start Developing in QT

Hello everyone,

I am new to QT platform and I want to develop some good thing in Qt. if any suggestion or any help. Please send me.

Thank You,
    a-E-ruka

Nokia Developer Champion

Re: Start Developing in QT

hello a-E-ruka

at first you can get on the forum nokia wiki Qt section or the symbian foundation wiki and start with some sample tutorials there.

Ti point you start with this link http://developer.symbian.org/wiki/in...Qt_Quick_Start .

Hope this helps you.

Regards,

Super Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by gaba88 View Post
    the symbian foundation wiki and start with some sample tutorials there.

Ti point you start with this link http://developer.symbian.org/wiki/in...Qt_Quick_Start.
    I think symbian foundation wiki is really wrong place to start, if this thread was in Qt for Maemo not just due to a mistake.
    For Maemo proper place to start would be http://maemo.org/development/

Regular Contributor

I suggest starting with the official Qt documentation at qt.nokia.com/doc. Many articles in the wiki here contain small mistakes. Also I suggest starting with desktop development rather than mobile development because it will shorten compile & run cycles. Also Qt was not initialy designed with mobile devices in mind, so it makes sense to first start with the desktop. You will better understand why some things are the way they are because of historic reasons.

I'm also new to Qt and I'm trying to get a better understanding of what's cross-platform (particularly mobile v desktop) and what isn't.

My initial understanding was that Qt was the same for all but there seems to be different tools to download depending on what platform you're looking at so I'm just not sure what I really need.

Let me outline what I want to do: