×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs down how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    I want to merge a dialog box in existing running window.Actually in my application the application launches in new window and after exit it jumps to waiting window .I want start the my application from the existing window which is running previously.Something by getting winId() or by any other method
    Last edited by babulamiet; 2010-04-01 at 12:17.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    So there are two applications, your own and application you start through QProcess? Is the question related to stackable windows in any way? Could you please give another try in describing the desired design?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    I am launching my application in a window.And I am downloading some file that comes in a dialog box.Actually the dialog box is getting launched separately.Can I merge that dialog box into the window that I have started earlier.The windows is showing in background untill my dialog box( which was created for downloading purpose ) is closed.When dialog box is getting closed ,the background window starts again.QDialog is used in application for dialog box.My original window block on QDialog::exec untill the dialog box is closed.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    I am launching my application in a window.And I am downloading some file that comes in a dialog box.Actually the dialog box is getting launched separately.Can I merge that dialog box into the window that I have started earlier.The windows is showing in background untill my dialog box( which was created for downloading purpose ) is closed.When dialog box is getting closed ,the background window starts again.QDialog is used in application for dialog box.My original window block on QDialog::exec untill the dialog box is closed.
    Yes, this is how QDialog and QDialog::exec work. So where is the problem? I have to confess that I don't really understand meaning of the phrase "merge a dialog into a window". Note, that dialog is also a special kind of window.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs down Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    I want a single window . Otherwise while the dialog box is open i want my existing window shouldn't be visible.It is getting visible in background. Or while dialog box is open then I dont want to handle the event to minimize it and not even to show any background window.I am creating QDialog box by QDialog( NULL, "", true, Qt:ialog | Qt::WStyle_Customize | Qt::WStyle_NoBorder | Qt::WStyle_Title ).
    Is there any way to create it so that it can get the previous window handle.I tried with QDialog ( QWidget * parent = 0, Qt::WindowFlags f = 0 ) also
    Last edited by babulamiet; 2010-04-02 at 12:16. Reason: detail description

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    I want a single window.
    This is not possible in X Window System.

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    Otherwise while the dialog box is open i want my existing window shouldn't be visible. It is getting visible in background.
    This is really strange requirement, but something will be visible in background any way, even if you hide parent window.

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    Or while dialog box is open then I dont want to handle the event to minimize it and not even to show any background window.
    You cannot minimize neither dialog, nor normal window in Maemo 5. The only way to avoid showing background is to use fullscreen dialog.

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    I am creating QDialog box by QDialog( NULL, "", true, Qt:ialog | Qt::WStyle_Customize | Qt::WStyle_NoBorder | Qt::WStyle_Title ).
    There is no such constructor for QDialog.

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    Is there any way to create it so that it can get the previous window handle.I tried with QDialog ( QWidget * parent = 0, Qt::WindowFlags f = 0 ) also
    You can get window handle with QWidget::winId().

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    is it possible to pass window handle ie QWidget::winId() from one process to other process window.
    Last edited by babulamiet; 2010-04-05 at 10:17.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: how to merge one window/dialog box in another window

    Quote Originally Posted by babulamiet View Post
    is it possible to pass window handle ie QWidget::winId() from one process to other process window.
    winId is window identifier on X11. you don't need to pass them as they can be obtained with XLib easily, for example,
    Code:
    xwininfo -tree -root
    will show you stack of all windows with their identifiers.
    Another example, this application is monitoring the topmost window:
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...tus_in_Maemo_5

Similar Threads

  1. Highlight text box in edwin window
    By ashish_jpr in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-08-28, 13:00
  2. Need help on window server session
    By gigglie in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-05-03, 09:57
  3. Problem Creating Window Using RWindow and putting More controls on it
    By er_gps212 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-10-28, 06:22
  4. Symbian C++ - Series 60 - Populating listbox in window when apps is launched?
    By periakaruppan in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-07-29, 03:29
  5. About window views
    By thodime_guru in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-06-17, 18:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •