×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi,

    I've just made my first WRT which is installing perfectly on my X6 but I can't work out how to install it on my N95.

    Could someone give me some advise? At the moment it complains that wgz is an unknown file type. The N95 has software version 31.0.017.

    You can see the app code here: http://www.doggiepubs.org.uk/mobile/...ubsWRT_0.2.wgz

    Thank you,

    Gabriel

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    I've installed the widget on my n95 via Nokia PC Suite and it works. Although application itself doesn't working well (error 006 when I click "Get pubs via gps" button, and I don't see any map when I enter postal code).
    How do you upload the widget on your phone, PC Suite or via mobile browser?

    Best regards

    Dusan

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Zaandam, Holland
    Posts
    71

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    On my N97, the gps function throws error 003, service timed out.

    Try increasing the timeout for getting gps locations.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi Dusan,

    I have tried both methods. Do you have the N95 or N95 8G? I'm using the N95 (Euro edition).

    When open it on my mobile browser it just opens it as a Note then displays a message to say it is an unsupported type. If I do it through PC Suite it uploads ok and I get the message from PC suite telling me to "complete it on the phone" but nothing appears on the phone.

    I think I will reinstall the firmware and try again. Maybe that is the problem.

    Gabriel

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi again Dusan,

    Forgot to say that the error you are getting is linked with setting up the GPS connection.

    I'm not sure why it would fail...

    The code is:

    if(so == null) {
    try {
    so = device.getServiceObject("Service.Location", "ILocation");
    }
    catch (e) {
    document.getElementById('info').innerHTML = '(006) Error ::GPS setup ' + e;
    document.getElementById('info').style.color = 'darkred';
    }
    }

    Any ideas?

    Gabriel

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi JasperGoes,

    Thanks for the feedback. I have now increased the timeout and it is working better for me too.

    I've also done a few other tweaks to speed things up.

    Gabriel

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    I'm using N95 8GB. It was same with me, PC suite just copied the wgz file to Installs/WGZ/ folder, and I've manually installed it. All wgz files have question mark icon (like it's unknown file format). Nevertheless after I click the wgz file, it asks me if I want to install it, and after that, the app appears in Applications folder, just like other apps.

    The 006 error may appears because I'm indoors now, and it's common that I can get GPS signal only when I'm outdoors. You will probably add some user friendly error report there
    Best regards,
    Dusan

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Zaandam, Holland
    Posts
    71

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Does this (beta) version of my WRT app work for you guys on the X6 and/or N95?
    Packaged with Platform Services 2.0, hope it works, otherwise, I'll have to change stuff
    to work with PS1 instead.
    Last edited by JasperGoes; 2010-04-15 at 11:00. Reason: Removed URL to package, no longer suitable cos of a million and one updates.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Manaus, Brazil
    Posts
    109

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    N95 and X6 have different WRT platform (1.0 and 1.1). Location function in N95 will only work if you use APIBridge.
    Javier Zambrano Ferreira

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Quote Originally Posted by JasperGoes View Post
    Does this (beta) version of my WRT app work for you guys on the X6 and/or N95?
    Packaged with Platform Services 2.0, hope it works, otherwise, I'll have to change stuff
    to work with PS1 instead.

    http://www.jaspergoes.com/tracker/WhereAmI.wgz


    I've installed it to n95 8g. Well, just white screen and arrow pointer, nothing else. I guess it's not working on wrt1.0
    Best regards,
    Dusan

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Zaandam, Holland
    Posts
    71

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    @Powerpixels; Thanks for testing.

    I've put in some effort to completely remove jquery from the package,
    and replace platform services 2.0 for the earlier edition.

    Chances are, it works now.

    Would you be willing to try again?

    Same url, new package.

    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Quote Originally Posted by JasperGoes View Post
    @Powerpixels; Thanks for testing.

    I've put in some effort to completely remove jquery from the package,
    and replace platform services 2.0 for the earlier edition.

    Chances are, it works now.

    Would you be willing to try again?

    Same url, new package.

    Thanks!

    I downloaded it again. It's the same, blank screen with pointer. You can also try RDA, you can test it much faster there on real devices.
    Best regards,
    Dusan

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi,

    I've tried it on my N95-1 now. Same result as powerpixels, blank screen with just the cursor.

    It loads on the X6 but does is not getting and useful trace calls. GPS is definitely on and working with the doggiepubs app.

    Had a quick look on the live tracker website but it is crashing firefox on my machine.

    Gabriel

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Zaandam, Holland
    Posts
    71

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    Hi Gabriel,

    Thanks for taking the time to do so.

    Powerpixels gave me a very useful hint, using RDA that is. I've been testing
    it myself on the N95 too, and seem to have run into a javascript problem I
    havent been able to explain until now. It seems my external js files do not
    get loaded on the N95, putting a simple alert in an external file doesnt get
    fired, although, when defining a function in the main html and assigning the
    onload event to it, it seems to work just fine.
    I'm confused now - but will try to change some stuff around.

    Sorry 'bout crashing your firefox, I know -exactly- what went wrong there,
    that was a result of me being too lazy to handle exceptions.
    It hangs whenever no locations can be pulled from the database, or the username
    does not exist. I will fix that later today.

    I'll add a little debugfunction that will show -why- values are not considered
    to be useful in a little while, cause I've just seen the X6 on RDA do the same
    thing; functioning GPS, but not a single 'useful' result.
    I determine usefulness by checking HorizontalAccuracy all the time, but not sure
    whether that value is -ever- being returned on an X6.
    Maybe you were in a place where gps reception was minimal? The other plotlines
    on the tracker site were made last night with the same version on the N97 Mini.

    Frustrating, but worth investigating.

    I'll drop a line soon.

    Thanks!

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Zaandam, Holland
    Posts
    71

    Re: WRT Widget Installing on X6 but not N95

    @Gabriel,

    Have you by any chance been able to get things to work on the N95 after all?
    Got the widget working, but can't find a way to get a gps location on -any- wrt1.0
    phone. I've been trying to go around it using Apibridge, but no luck there either.

    Anxiously waiting for a reply (:

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. The free Photobucket widget - download not supported for N95
    By Audimies in forum [Closed] Publishing to Nokia Store
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-05-27, 16:40
  2. Error installing MWS in N95
    By canopus2 in forum Mobile Web Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-03, 15:46
  3. Installing FL 2.1 on N95
    By rags in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-01-06, 19:11
  4. Why Signed Midlet Not Installing on N95 ?
    By jose_79 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-11-02, 22:54
  5. Installing an App Signing CA on the N95?
    By gagravarr in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-06-27, 20:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×