Discussion Board

Opengles Game Engine Example 1.2 compile problem

Hello,

I cannot get the opengles game engine example to compile correctly or run on the emulator.
    Please can someone provide me with an updated version, or any other resource comparable?

Thank you,

Ben

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Opengles Game Engine Example 1.2 compile problem

How does it compile/run incorrectly? Some details would be handy.
    Check if you can build anything: HelloWorldBasic from the SDK, Carbide-generated "GUI application", etc.

Yes i can run some opengl-es examples like the floating duck/rain/shadows.

The game engine example v1.2 wont compile for 3rd MR, FP 1 or fp2 1.1.

I am now building my own engine, but i would like some performance pointers for opengles.

Moreover, i am a king of C++, but i am new to Symbian, so i need some pointers as how to get useful console output. _LIT does not seem to appear, or is showered by other commands.

Also can i draw over the EGLDisplay after the render cycle to show items like fps?

I guess i could make an opengl based font, but i would rather do it in 2d, and not an identity transformed quad on the screen.

thanks wizard,

Ben

PS: I am a master in m3g, directx and basic opengl. I have been into the mobile 3d from the days of Hybrid. I need a good base engine that compiles for symbian. I guess i can hack the example, but i would rather have a 3rd edition that works. The example states that it is made for s50 or s80 and that a 3rd edition exists but i cant find it.

Quote Originally Posted by nofxonline View Post
    The game engine example v1.2 wont compile for 3rd MR, FP 1 or fp2 1.1.
    Ok, but what happens instead? What error messages you get?
    some pointers as how to get useful console output. _LIT does not seem to appear, or is showered by other commands.