×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Unable to access Devices.xml

    Hi,

    I am getting this problem when i want to change my SDK platfrom on Windows 7:

    C:\Users\Test>devices -setdefault @Series60_v2_1:com.nokia.Series60_2_1
    Unable to access Devices.xml!

    Any idea ? thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Btw this happens for all platforms, 2nd, 3rd and 5th edition

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,562

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Quote Originally Posted by mario_hendarwan View Post
    Hi,

    I am getting this problem when i want to change my SDK platfrom on Windows 7:

    C:\Users\Test>devices -setdefault @Series60_v2_1:com.nokia.Series60_2_1
    Unable to access Devices.xml!

    Any idea ? thanks in advance
    Does the command devices give you any results?
    Do you have the devices.xml in the program files->common files->Symbian directory? what does it contain?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Quote Originally Posted by Symbian_Neil View Post
    Does the command devices give you any results?
    Do you have the devices.xml in the program files->common files->Symbian directory? what does it contain?
    Yes i have devices.xml in that folder. It contains:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
    <device id="Nokia_N97_SDK_v1.0" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="yes">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\9.4\Nokia_N97_SDK_v1.0</epocroot>
    <toolsroot>C:\Symbian\9.4\Nokia_N97_SDK_v1.0</toolsroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_3rd_FP1" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1\</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_3rd_MR" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd_MR\</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="Series60_v2_1" name="com.nokia.Series60_2_1" default="yes" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\7.0s\Series60_v21\</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_2nd_FP2" name="com.nokia.Series60" default="no" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\8.0a\S60_2nd_FP2</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="Series60_v20" name="com.nokia.series60" default="no" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\7.0s\Series60_v20</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_3rd_FP2_SDK_v1.1" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="yes">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\9.3\S60_3rd_FP2_SDK_v1.1</epocroot>
    <toolsroot>C:\Symbian\9.3\S60_3rd_FP2_SDK_v1.1</toolsroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="yes">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\9.4\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0</epocroot>
    <toolsroot>C:\Symbian\9.4\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0</toolsroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_2nd_FP3" name="com.nokia.series60" default="no" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\Symbian\8.1a\S60_2nd_FP3\</epocroot>
    </device>
    </devices>
    and command devices gives me this result:

    Code:
    C:\Users\Test>devices
    Nokia_N97_SDK_v1.0:com.nokia.s60
    S60_3rd_FP1:com.nokia.s60
    S60_3rd_MR:com.nokia.s60
    Series60_v2_1:com.nokia.Series60_2_1 - default
    S60_2nd_FP2:com.nokia.Series60
    Series60_v20:com.nokia.series60
    S60_3rd_FP2_SDK_v1.1:com.nokia.s60
    S60_2nd_FP3:com.nokia.series60
    S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0:com.nokia.s60

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,751

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Have you installed everything with right-click + Run as Administrator?

    EDIT: apparently your files are in place. You may try if this Run as Administrator thing helps with the command prompt.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    Have you installed everything with right-click + Run as Administrator?
    I just tried to reinstall the S60 v2.1 with right click + Run as Admin but still... i got the same problem... do i need to reinstall everything now?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Quote Originally Posted by mario_hendarwan View Post
    I just tried to reinstall the S60 v2.1 with right click + Run as Admin but still... i got the same problem... do i need to reinstall everything now?
    Just reinstalled everything but i am getting the same problem.... :(

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,751

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Sorry, I meant that you should launch cmd.exe (Start Menu, All Programs, Accessories, Command prompt) as admin, then it can get write access to devices.xml - because it is in a protected folder (Program Files).

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: Unable to access Devices.xml

    Thank you very much!

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to access methods
    By chandras2k6 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-05-06, 04:35
  2. 6820 Secure Access and other q"s
    By crjag in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-04-17, 23:29
  3. Professional Support forum: unable to access
    By esacell in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-06-09, 20:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×