Discussion Board

Rapid development with Qt (or lack thereof)

Okay, I don't want to come off as complaining, so let me start by saying the work done by the Qt Devs is just insanely awesome. These guys make C++ code look like art.

But here's my issue. I'm a programmer who is looking to transfer some code off of C# to Qt C++. However, I keep finding myself wasting time implementing very simple things. Let me give an example. Let's say I want to create a class in C#. I do the following:

Code:
    public class Foo {
         public int Bar {get; private set};
    }
    Here this class is simple. It has a single public property that can be retreived anywhere but only set from within the class.

Here's what I would have to do in Qt:

Code:
    class _FooData;

public class Foo : QObject
    {
    Q_OBJECT
    public:
          Foo(QObject *parent = 0);
          Foo(const Foo &other);
          Foo &operator=(const Foo &other);
          int getBar();

private:
        void setBar(int bar);
        QSharedDataPointer<_FooData> d;
    }

class _FooData : QSharedData {
        int bar;
    }
    The size is huge! And I haven't even written the .cpp file yet!. Is there anyway to speed up development? I'd love to write my code using Qt, but it ends up taking me hours to prototype a simple program.

Super Contributor

Re: Rapid development with Qt (or lack thereof)

Well, I don't know much about C# but I'm guessing that much of the same code ends up getting generated under the covers in both cases.

There are several C++ development environments (variants of Eclipse, among others) which will automatically generate setters and getters for you, if that's important to you. You can still use those and develop with Qt.