×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Switch between application

    Hi all,

    I would know if it is possible to switch between application in j2me;

    In fact I want to make an application that run a server and another application have to connect to this server.

    Can this two application run together on a S40 6th edition phone?


    Thanks,
    Adrien

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    Yes, you can run two app's together on S40 6th edition- with 1 in background and other in foreground.

    To Switch 1 app to another, launch the other app by Push.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    Thanks for the quick answer
    By push? I don't understand? I can use the Push Registry to run my app in background?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    You can use PushRegistry to launch your app, which in trun can go in background using display.setCurrect(null);
    or the current app from which you push will go to background and the one pushed will come in foreground.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    But I read that display.setCurrect(null); method is not able on S40 phone (only on S60 phone in fact).

    Is it possible to call the display.setCurrect(null); method in S40 6th edition phone?

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    how are you trying to push the app in background on S40 ?

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    I didn't try yet.

    But if I have to launch the app by clicking on it, i doesn't matter.

    I want that my app that open the server go in background.

    I read that it's possible in S60 phone by display.setCurrect(null) but it seems that it is not supported on S40 phone.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    I want that my app that open the server go in background.
    then try to push start the foreground app from it, when user launches this app. which you want to run in background.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    Sorry I don't understand.

    If I register my app for push, the app will go on forground when the client will try to connect to it no?

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    I wrote:

    try to push start the foreground app from it, when user launches this app. which you want to run in background.

    It and this app - ref's to your backgound app - server. Make any icon for it and push launch the client after starting the threads needed to run this app in background.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    I tried several things on S40 6thEdition emulator :
    use of display.setCurrent(null) => doesn't work
    PushRegistry.registerConnection("socket://:60000",this.getClass().getName(),("*")) => throw a ConnectionNotFoundException

    So what can I try?

    I do not understand what you I that I make. push = PushRegistry? or how to force the background exceution of my midlet (in S60 3s of pushing on the Menu button works)

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    Try to test these things on real device....

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    I don't want to by a phone if it doesn't work.

  14. #14
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Switch between application

    try testing on Nokia RDA.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  15. #15
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Re: Switch between application

    Nokia RDA support only S60 phones and S60 phones doesn't support JSR177 (APDU).

    My application needs also to communicate with SIM Card

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-02-11, 04:41
  2. iPhone Blogger Blog Creation Application
    By semaphore10 in forum News and Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-10-06, 08:49
  3. How can the WAP browser communicate to J2ME application?
    By hbfornies in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2007-03-02, 16:32
  4. CAknDialog lost after application switch
    By jack44 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-05-15, 12:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×