Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How to link to source files and not to dll:s?

Hi!

I'm writing a small windows program in Qt for a project at my university (I have never used Qt before). However, when I mail the program to the rest of the members in my project group, they can't run it because they are missing the dll files necessary for it to work. How can I do if I want to build everything into my program (link to source files) instead making it use dll files?

My *.pro file currently looks like this:

Code:
    CONFIG += qt debug staticlib
    TARGET = "Control Panel"

INCLUDEPATH += "../"
    SOURCES += button.cpp
    HEADERS += button.h
    SOURCES += user_interface.cpp
    HEADERS += user_interface.h
    SOURCES += main.cpp
    As you can see, I have already tried and made an attempt by putting a flag staticlib to the CONFIG variable (I found some other thread in which they had done this), but it seems to have no effect, since the executable have the same size as before (if source files would be build into the program instead of letting it link to dll files, it would be bigger).

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: How to link to source files and not to dll:s?

A documentation says you would need statically build Qt to link Qt libraries statically to your project
    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.6/deployment-windows.html

How long time does it take to rebuild Qt when it is statically configured? It has been compiling on my laptop for two hours straight now; is there something wrong? My laptop is fairly new so it shouldn't take that long time. What I found out like 15 minutes after I started the compiling, was the small note under the instructions I just read, telling me to nmake distclean before running configure again. Since I didn't do this (I did everything in the order I read it :P), may something has been fucked up since it is taking so long time?