Discussion Board

Question Which platform is best for my case? Java, qt or Python?

Hello world!

i m new to this nokia forum and also in mobile application.

i have some experience in coding django and normal python, and i m also relatively experienced in java using eclipse and netbeans too.

i want to develop an application that runs on mobile phones(at least Symbian based) and communicated with the company SAP portal server through web services. there will be database involved, as the application needs to store some data locally. also it would be nice if the codes can be easily ported to other mobile platforms eg. windows phone and android (iphone is not required, as it's too playful to be used in business)

i know that java is born with potability, but it seems to lack some native integration(eg. contact, local database).
    for QT, i have no experience at all, it will be like starting something from ground up.
    for python, there is python for s60 and py qt, which one will become mainstream which one will fade out, i m still a bit confuse here.

so for my case here, and in terms of the effort of development and portability, which platform should i choose?

thank you very much.

Super Contributor

Re: Which platform is best for my case? Java, qt or Python?

Welcome to the form Nokia discussion boards..

We can help you better and suggested the exact technology if you could share the details and functionality of the application in much more details. Kindly let us know more about that what API you wanna use?
    what are the technical functionalities you might want to implement?
    What are the targeted device you wanna cover?
    Thanks with Regards,

R a j - The K e r n e l

Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

Nokia Developer Champion

I will recommand Java - J2me, it can run on WM devices too and can be ported to Android devices using J2AB and other tools available. Also J2me app works on blackberry devices too.