×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data

    I've done quite some searching on the web, but couldn't find any answer to my problem.
    I am getting
    Code:
    QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data
    in the Output window while running my application in the emulator. I am using a QTcpSocket to send a HTTP request and get the response. The request and the response get sent and received, respectively, but I am wondering what that message means.

    Another problem is that the application does not work on my device. It does start normally, but the socket does not appear to work. Might this have anything to do with the message above?

    Please excuse my lack of knowledge, as I have no experience writing apps for Symbian (or any other mobile devices, for that matter).

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data


  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Re: QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data

    Thanks for your response. I'd already come across that page, but it didn't really help me understand what the problem is, if there is one.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data

    Well, some out-of-band data is apparently getting generated, and the message means it's not getting sent, at least not at the time the message comes out. But I only have a vague understanding of what out-of-band data is, so I can't speculate as to what's going on in any detail.

    One thing to note is that QHttp and it's kin have been deprecated, in favor of the "new and improved" QNetworkXxxx stuff. (Just in case you've been looking at some old examples that use QHttp.)

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data

    I assume you've seen this thread: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=180209

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: QNativeSocketEngine::initialize unable to inline out-of-band data

    Looking at the referenced thread below, I got the impression that this message is coming out during configuration, and then, as it happened, I was watching the console while testing a prototype comm app and saw the self-same message.

    I think what it means is that a configuration command was sent down and it couldn't be fully honored -- ie, inlining out-of-band data was requested but the configuration does not support that. I suspect it's a red herring with regard to your problems on the hardware.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-01-04, 13:10
  2. Wy so many inline contruction function?
    By Kongtao in forum Symbian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-09-29, 06:36
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-12-29, 17:50
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-10-12, 05:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×