×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    188

    Question J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    Hi All,

    I have developed an application in J2me and it's working fine in Nokia6300 and Nokia3110c.
    Now I want to run the same application in BlackBerry devices.
    Is it possible?If possible then how?
    Please guide me...


    Thanks & Regards,
    Ajit

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    Well in order to running Existing MIDlets on the BlackBerry :-

    To run a standard MIDlet on a Java-enabled BlackBerry device, you first need to convert the .jad and .jar files to the .cod format, using the rapc command-line tool that comes with RIM's JDE. You'll find rapc in the bin directory of your JDE installation. This command converts a MIDlet named LoginMIDlet:

    rapc import="c:\BlackBerryJDE3.6\lib\net_rim_api.jar" codename=LoginMIDlet -midlet jad=LoginMIDlet.jad LoginMIDlet.jar
    You can load the resulting LoginMIDlet.cod file into your BlackBerry device from your desktop computer over a USB cable. Use the javaloader command, which can also be found in the bin directory of your JDE installation. I used this command to load LoginMIDlet.cod into my BlackBerry 7510:

    javaloader -usb load LoginMIDlet.cod
    Once the application is loaded into the BlackBerry, you can run it just as if it were a native application.

    You can use javaloader to delete applications from the BlackBerry as well as to load them. This command will remove LoginMIDlet.cod from the BlackBerry:

    javaloader -usb erase -f LoginMIDlet.cod
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    189

    Re: J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    Hi Raj

    Just a quick question regarding the process you mentioned above. How does this differ from installing the .jar file on the phone.

    I followed your steps, put the cod file on the phone (blackberry storm) and the app runs as if I had put the jar file on the phone and run it i.e it crashes in exactly the same place.

    Regards
    Steve
    Last edited by stevejanko; 2010-05-13 at 14:08.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    Quote Originally Posted by stevejanko View Post
    Hi Raj

    Just a quick question regarding the process you mentioned above. How does this differ from installing the .jar file on the phone.
    Steave you never mention that your app was crashing.........
    If something is happening that can crash the app then hardly it matters that how are you installing the app.....

    Please try to find out the reasons for this..At what action it is gonna crashed?
    find the cause reason?
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    189

    Re: J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    Hi Raj

    When I say the app is crashing, I mean it is crashing on a blackberry device not a Nokia device. The reason I asked the question is, I looked at your post and you created a .cod file which you loaded on the Blackberry. I put an app onto the blackberry, but I put a .jar file on not a .cod. What I am trying to find out is what is the difference between the .jar and .cod files (if any).

    Regards
    Steve

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: J2me application run in BlackBerry!

    JAR/JAD files can be installed from the device, move the JAD file to the device Media Card. Go to yoru Media icon > Menu > Explore and navigate to the file, and click on it. It should stall from there. If you don't have data service on the device, it may not.

    COD files need a corresponding ALX file, to install from Desktop Manager.
    Connecting your device to the PC via USB, open Desktop Manager > Application Loader. If you have an ALX file, the App Loader might find it automatically. If not, use the ADD button to locate and install.
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME Application Lead Developer - Montreal
    By mobileapps.hr in forum News, Announcements and Job Listings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-03, 12:54
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-09-25, 09:44
  3. Can we run any j2me application on any device other than Nolkia?
    By manojkumar.m in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-09-13, 18:29
  4. J2ME application run on the S40,s60,s80
    By tiger zhou in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-02-16, 13:57
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-10-17, 08:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •