×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Packaging Qt application

    I am going to package a application developed by Qt 4.6.2 using MADDE.

    When I execute the 'mad qmake' command, no message return.

    When I execute the 'mad make' command, it returns "make: Nothing to be done for `first'".

    When I execute the 'mad dpkg-buildpackage', it returns an error "...tail: cannot open `debian/changelog' for reading: No such file or directory".

    I find that this error occur due to missing of the folder `debian', and I find a document from http://wiki.maemo.org/Packaging_a_Qt_application telling that the "dh_make" command can debianize the source archive.

    But when I execute it in MADDE, it returns the error "command not found".

    Can anyone tell me how to execute this command?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    MADDE doesn't have dh_make, on MADDE you use
    Code:
    mad pscreate -t qt_simple myprojectname
    to produce Debian package from the template.
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...DDE_on_Windows
    http://wiki.maemo.org/MADDE/Qt_Example

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    MADDE doesn't have dh_make, on MADDE you use
    Code:
    mad pscreate -t qt_simple myprojectname
    to produce Debian package from the template.
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...DDE_on_Windows
    http://wiki.maemo.org/MADDE/Qt_Example
    But this command is used to create the sample project from the templates, and the 'Debian' folder is already exist.

    My question is that I have created a project with Qt for windows, there is no 'Debian' folder. How I run the 'mad dpkg-buildpackage' in this case?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    But this command is used to create the sample project from the templates, and the 'Debian' folder is already exist.

    My question is that I have created a project with Qt for windows, there is no 'Debian' folder. How I run the 'mad dpkg-buildpackage' in this case?
    The name of the folder is debian, everything is case sensitive on Unix/Linux. debian folder contains information about package and it's produced either by
    mad pscreate or by dh_make or manually.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    The name of the folder is debian, everything is case sensitive on Unix/Linux. debian folder contains information about package and it's produced either by
    mad pscreate or by dh_make or manually.
    Sorry I am still not understand how to create the debian folder. Now I find a 'stupid' way to generate the project package but still have problem.

    First I run the command "mad pscreate -t qt_simple testing", the 'testing' folder is created with the sample project with the debian folder. Then I delete all files in this folder except the debian & data folder, and copy all files/folder from my existing project to the 'testing' folder.

    In this case I can run the 'mad dpkg-buildpackage' command, and it can generate the DEB file in the parent folder. There is no error to install it in the mobile, but I cannot find my application in the program file.

    I have check all files in the debian folder, but still find no hint, please help

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    Sorry I am still not understand how to create the debian folder.
    It's produced either by mad pscreate or by dh_make or manually.

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    Then I delete all files in this folder except the debian & data folder, and copy all files/folder from my existing project to the 'testing' folder.
    Normally you copy your files to src folder. Otherwise you need to modify qtprog.pro appropriately.

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    In this case I can run the 'mad dpkg-buildpackage' command, and it can generate the DEB file in the parent folder. There is no error to install it in the mobile, but I cannot find my application in the program file.
    What is the program file?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    It's produced either by mad pscreate or by dh_make or manually.


    Normally you copy your files to src folder. Otherwise you need to modify qtprog.pro appropriately.


    What is the program file?
    Here is my testing.pro, I does not use the src folders, the .pro and other source codes are in same folder.
    =========
    TARGET = testing
    TEMPLATE = app
    SOURCES += main.cpp \
    frmmain.cpp
    HEADERS += frmmain.h
    FORMS += frmmain.ui
    RESOURCES += ImagesList.qrc
    =========

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    Here is my testing.pro, I does not use the src folders, the .pro and other source codes are in same folder.
    =========
    TARGET = testing
    TEMPLATE = app
    SOURCES += main.cpp \
    frmmain.cpp
    HEADERS += frmmain.h
    FORMS += frmmain.ui
    RESOURCES += ImagesList.qrc
    =========
    Your project file misses installation commands. Check automatically generated qtprog.pro for the missing stuff.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Your project file misses installation commands. Check automatically generated qtprog.pro for the missing stuff.
    I used 'src' folder to contain the source files, and changed the pro as following:

    =========
    TARGET = iconferenceroom
    TEMPLATE = app
    SOURCES += main.cpp \
    frmmain.cpp
    HEADERS += frmmain.h
    FORMS += frmmain.ui
    RESOURCES += ImagesList.qrc

    LEXSOURCES += #LEXS#
    YACCSOURCES += #YACCS#

    INCLUDEPATH +=
    LIBS +=
    DEFINES +=

    OBJECTS_DIR = build
    MOC_DIR = build
    UI_DIR = build

    DESTDIR = build
    TEMPLATE = app
    DEPENDPATH +=
    VPATH += src uis
    CONFIG -=
    CONFIG += debug
    QT=core gui

    INSTALLS += target
    target.path = /usr/bin/

    INSTALLS += desktop
    desktop.path = /usr/share/applications/hildon
    desktop.files = data/iconferenceroom.desktop

    INSTALLS += service
    service.path = /usr/share/dbus-1/services
    service.files = data/iconferenceroom.service

    INSTALLS += icon64
    icon64.path = /usr/share/icons/hicolor/64x64/apps
    icon64.files = data/64x64/iconferenceroom.png

    debian-src.commands = dpkg-buildpackage -S -r -us -uc -d
    debian-bin.commands = dpkg-buildpackage -b -r -uc -d
    debian-all.depends = debian-src debian-bin

    compiler_clean.commands = -$(DEL_FILE) $(TARGET)
    QMAKE_EXTRA_TARGETS += debian-all debian-src debian-bin compiler_clean
    =============

    Now I can run the appliication in my N900 via MAD Developer, and I also can create the package file, but the app icon does not occur after installation.

    Which parameter in the PRO file i need to modify?

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    Now I can run the appliication in my N900 via MAD Developer, and I also can create the package file, but the app icon does not occur after installation.
    Do you have these files?
    data/iconferenceroom.desktop
    data/64x64/iconferenceroom.png
    And what is the content of desktop file?

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Do you have these files?
    data/iconferenceroom.desktop
    data/64x64/iconferenceroom.png
    And what is the content of desktop file?
    Thank a lot, I finally finsihed the first application with Qt for Maemo

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by wktsang1 View Post
    Thank a lot, I finally finsihed the first application with Qt for Maemo
    Explaining what was your problem and how did you resolve it could be beneficial to other people facing the same or similar problem in future.

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re: Packaging Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Explaining what was your problem and how did you resolve it could be beneficial to other people facing the same or similar problem in future.
    Ok, just forgot to update the content in the file data/iconferenceroom.desktop:>

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-01-26, 19:00
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-01-05, 14:45
  3. kinetic scrolling
    By stalep in forum Nokia N9
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-12-08, 12:41
  4. Do Symbian rejects the Express Signing request on any Business Development ground?
    By arpit2agrawal in forum Symbian Signed Support, Application Packaging and Distribution and Security
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2009-02-19, 10:46
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-05-08, 12:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •