Discussion Board

Which kind of connection or SIM is needed for HTTP request response type of midlet?

Hi Everyone,

I have developed a a very simple midlet which will communicate with the server through HTTP Request-Response. I have installed the application on to the device. Now I want to buy a SIM card.

I want information or links providing information regarding the type of SIM required to execute above mentioned midlet.
    1. Can any SIM be able to work?
    2. Or Will I need a SIM with internet connection? If yes, which type of connection should be supported by the SIM?
    3. Or any SIM will work, but I have to activate any internet plan?

I am very new to mobile development and this is very first application, and first post in the Nokia forum. Please guide me.

Best Regards.

Super Contributor

Re: Which kind of connection or SIM is needed for HTTP request response type of midle

Any SIM for which you have from the network operator (carrier) a subscription/plan/contract that allows packet data access. Note that different operators charge different for data; best is to try to find one with a fixed monthly price regardless of how much data you send or receive.

Re: Which kind of connection or SIM is needed for HTTP request response type of midle

Thanks petrib, I have a SIM without any internet plan or GPRS. So I think, it will not work. right? To execute HTTP based midlet, will I need internet access on my mobile device?
    Or just a simple SIM without internet will work? I mean, I am not getting it technically, what to ask for?
    Packet Data Access - is it comes with a special kind of SIM?
    Thanks for additional information, I will go for unlimited monthly plan.
    Best Regards.

Super Contributor

Correct. A SIM without any internet/GPRS plans will not work, if you need to execute HTTP requests.

Thanks a lot petrib. I'll ask for SIM with an activated internet.