×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Hi,

    I'm trying to move from scratchbox to the new Nokia Qt SDK.

    All seems to have gone well enough, and I can build, and run my app on the device, but when I set a break point, it all goes horribly wrong(tm). I get this :

    .dynamic section for "/home/davidmaxwaterman/NokiaQtSDK/Maemo/4.6.2/sysroots/fremantle-arm-sysroot-1014-slim/usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4" is not at the expected address (wrong library or version mismatch?)
    .dynamic section for "/home/davidmaxwaterman/NokiaQtSDK/Maemo/4.6.2/sysroots/fremantle-arm-sysroot-1014-slim/lib/libpthread.so.0" is not at the expected address (wrong library or version mismatch?)
    .dynamic section for "/home/davidmaxwaterman/NokiaQtSDK/Maemo/4.6.2/sysroots/fremantle-arm-sysroot-1014-slim/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6" is not at the expected address (wrong library or version mismatch?)
    ---8<---
    Any ideas how to make this work?
    Last edited by davidmaxwaterman; 2010-05-16 at 13:01. Reason: needlessly long error message

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Install the same libraries on the device as you have in Nokia Qt SDK.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Install the same libraries on the device as you have in Nokia Qt SDK.
    I'm curious how the binary runs if the libraries aren't installed.

    Also, I am targeting the device, so I should be getting the versions in the SDK the same as the device, not the other way around, no?

    Can you explain more, or be a little more verbose?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    I'm curious how the binary runs if the libraries aren't installed.
    But you can easily have different versions of libraries.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    Also, I am targeting the device, so I should be getting the versions in the SDK the same as the device, not the other way around, no?
    Nokia Qt SDK is PR1.2 based, PR1.2 firmware for the phone is not yet released, thus, they cannot match. Which firmware you are using on the phone is another question.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    But you can easily have different versions of libraries.
    Sure, but does that explain why the binary itself links and runs ok, but I can't set any break points? Perhaps it does...I don't know.

    Nokia Qt SDK is PR1.2 based, PR1.2 firmware for the phone is not yet released, thus, they cannot match.
    Why not? Just because it's not released yet?

    Max.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    Sure, but does that explain why the binary itself links and runs ok, but I can't set any break points? Perhaps it does...I don't know.
    Linking is done in SDK I don't see any possible reasons for failing here. And I don't know anything on a way you install application to the device, but in most of the cases binaries don't have strict dependencies to libraries versions. Thus, binary linked against one version will run with another version of the same library. However, debugging requires knowledge of offsets in the memory, which naturally differ between library versions.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    Why not? Just because it's not released yet?
    You can name your firmware release.
    Code:
    env | grep VERSION

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Linking is done in SDK I don't see any possible reasons for failing here. And I don't know anything on a way you install application to the device, but in most of the cases binaries don't have strict dependencies to libraries versions. Thus, binary linked against one version will run with another version of the same library. However, debugging requires knowledge of offsets in the memory, which naturally differ between library versions.
    Ok, fair enough.

    I am relying on the SDK to get all this right for me, or at least give me some sensible message/guidance on how to fix it.



    You can name your firmware release.
    Code:
    env | grep VERSION
    In private message.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    I am relying on the SDK to get all this right for me.
    SDK cannot really synchronize device SW with its own SW. Or at least it's not so easy.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    or at least give me some sensible message/guidance on how to fix it.
    Message you've got was more than sensible.

    Basically, I've grepped the latest Nokia Qt SDK and it's based on RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.14-14 SW version.
    So you are supposed to have the same version of firmware on your phone. Release of PR 1.2 should fix this mismatch.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    SDK cannot really synchronize device SW with its own SW. Or at least it's not so easy.


    Message you've got was more than sensible.

    Basically, I've grepped the latest Nokia Qt SDK and it's based on RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.14-14 SW version.
    So you are supposed to have the same version of firmware on your phone. Release of PR 1.2 should fix this mismatch.
    Ok, so if I downgrade my phone to 14-14, it'll work? Does this mean that PR1.2 will coincide with a new version of the SDK?

    Max.

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: maemo5:breakpoints don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    Ok, so if I downgrade my phone to 14-14, it'll work?
    It should, but note that 14-14 build is not publicly available.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    Does this mean that PR1.2 will coincide with a new version of the SDK?
    Naturally. Current problems are temporary related to PR1.2 transitional period.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot get NFC tag driven Static Push Registry (via JAD) to work on 6212
    By andrew_d_mackenzie in forum Near Field Communication
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-02-22, 12:19
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-12-21, 10:04
  3. Breakpoints do not work when debugging application on 5800 XM device from Carbide
    By viktor.burka in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-11-30, 19:28
  4. CommConnection does not work with Series 60 SDK, but works in JWT
    By jackiechan2001 in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-02-04, 09:07
  5. does irda function work with the emulator ?
    By IGhost in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-12-07, 17:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×