Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Exclamation Suggestion on how to fix Ovi reviews

Hi,

Here is a suggestion for sorting out the mess that are Ovi customer reviews.

People often comment negatively without understanding the particular problem they may have. More importantly - developers have no way to help them overcome the problem: neither by replying to the review nor by contacting them in any way.

Take this comment as an example:

"It takes your money and does a runner! Absolute krap! It won't install as it has no identification name. A BIG CON. AAAARRRRGGHH!!"

First, there is a suggestion that this app takes somebody's money without their consent and that they can't retrieve it. They suggest this app is a big con! THIS IS NOT TRUE! Yet as a developer I can't offer help in installing - presumably the user didn't manage to install the application at all. I can't explain that if the customer is not satisfied, they can claim a refund. There is no way to resolve the problem they have amicably regardless of my good will.

Second, they suggest that "it has no identification name". WRT Widgets don't require identification name (unless OVI has wrapped my widget in some unexpected way). So this very much looks like Ovi App bug on X6 and probably N97. I've installed this app manually on many phones (including the above two) without a problem, the app has passed Ovi tests, yet there are already two complaints about installation through Ovi app - which have ended up as bad reviews for my app and not where they belong: in the Ovi app reviews.

Either way, I have no way of knowing what exactly the end user's problem is or helping them overcome it.

So how to fix this? Well, perhaps support and reviews should be separated.