×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    445

    [Nokia Qt SDK] Qt Simulator does not update UI

    Hello,

    When I modify an existing user interface with Qt Designer, (clean+) compile the project, and run it in Qt S60 Emulator, then the updated Ui is not shown (instead the old version is still visible). In Carbide.c++ I had a similar problem when using the S60 Ui Designer, but there it helped to clean the project.

    How can I fix this?

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    For starters, make sure that the UI files are properly listed in the PRO file.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    445

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    The pro file looks like this:

    Code:
    #-------------------------------------------------
    #
    # Project created by QtCreator 2010-05-17T18:23:06
    #
    #-------------------------------------------------
    
    QT       += core gui
    
    TARGET = testapp
    TEMPLATE = app
    
    
    SOURCES += main.cpp\
            mainfrm.cpp
    
    HEADERS  += mainfrm.h
    
    FORMS    += mainfrm.ui
    
    CONFIG += mobility
    MOBILITY = 
    
    symbian {
        TARGET.UID3 = 0xeeaebf55
        TARGET.CAPABILITY += UserEnvironment
        TARGET.EPOCSTACKSIZE = 0x14000
        TARGET.EPOCHEAPSIZE = 0x020000 0x800000
    }
    mainfrm.ui is the only screen at the moment. Is there something wrong with this file?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    That looks reasonably correct.

    But the fact that you had trouble with Carbide suggests that there is some pervasive configuration problem.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    One thing that occurs to me:

    If you were using an editor that doesn't integrate well with Carbide/Creator then you could be losing the information about what files have changed. Also, there may well be some obscure Windows option that affects whether Carbide/Creator can receive notification of the changes. Or something screwy about your system clock and timezone configuration.

    Have you tried simply "touching" the files to change their timestamps?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    445

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    yes, I have done this. I have also deleted all *.o files and other compiled things (e.g. the directory with the debug/release files for the emulator). All without success. Somewhere the old design must be stored. But where ?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    445

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    Some temporary files are also stored in "C:\NokiaQtSDK\Symbian\SDK\epoc32". But these seem to be the files for the final sis file, but not the binary used in the Qt emulator.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    Let's clarify the things a bit: are you seeing the problem with the Qt Simulator (Nokia Qt SDK) or with the Symbian/S60 Emulator?

    If the problem is, as I suspect, with the Qt Simulator, then the issue has nothing to do with Symbian, you are seeing this problem while building a Windows app which incidentally looks like a Symbian one. There is a bug report about this already, I will have to check what its status is. The workaround seems to be to switch the target (e.g. to Symbian Device), do a build there, then return to the Qt Simulator config and when building again you will see the updated design.

    If however you see the problem in the emulator, then the issue is new to me and should be investigated.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    Also, note that for project \Example1\example1.pro a set of temporary files are being created in ..\Example1-build\ and I suspect these files would require a cleanup. I haven't really looked into this after reporting the bug, so I guess it these files are implicated I can get a confirmation inspecting the bug report tomorrow.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    445

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    Let's clarify the things a bit: are you seeing the problem with the Qt Simulator (Nokia Qt SDK) or with the Symbian/S60 Emulator?

    If the problem is, as I suspect, with the Qt Simulator, then the issue has nothing to do with Symbian, you are seeing this problem while building a Windows app which incidentally looks like a Symbian one. There is a bug report about this already, I will have to check what its status is. The workaround seems to be to switch the target (e.g. to Symbian Device), do a build there, then return to the Qt Simulator config and when building again you will see the updated design.

    If however you see the problem in the emulator, then the issue is new to me and should be investigated.
    Yes, I am talking about the Qt Simulator - sorry for the confusion.
    The switching of the target helped - thanks .

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: Qt Designer + Emulator does not update UI

    Quote Originally Posted by pixsta View Post
    Yes, I am talking about the Qt Simulator - sorry for the confusion.
    The switching of the target helped - thanks .

    You can just switch off the "shadow build" option in your active configuration. It should help

Similar Threads

  1. How to trigger update of the text inside the virtual keyboard UI
    By katroll in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-13, 09:08
  2. [moved] Locked memory card after firmware update [Nokia 6288}
    By snake.fist in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-11, 15:54
  3. Multithread and UI update problem
    By kavehmb2000 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-20, 06:13
  4. Problem to update UI
    By MDanielsson in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-10-21, 21:40
  5. can a firmware update, update Nokia UI version?
    By alanjeeves in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-06-05, 14:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×