×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: samsung j2me?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy samsung j2me?

    Hi,

    i am doing some sample examples for samsung..

    but the code is not running ?

    i found that even simple hello world is also not running...

    the code perfectly run with sony ericson & nokia.

    how to make it running?

    the changes made to run code on samsung are:-

    i have downloaded samsung sdk from samsung site, installed it. & then just set the emulator as samsung & device as
    device default colored device.
    as soon as emulator starts it thr's an exception.

    Could not open listen socketjava.lang.NullPointerException:

    The error message in alert box (default alert box) is
    The application has unexpectedly quit. Contact the application provider to resolve the issue.

    when press done it exists the app &
    shows

    "
    83050 - AMS - ERROR - 0 - The MIDlet suite could not be run.
    The MIDlet suite could not be run.
    "
    .


    i am simply running hello world..
    any idea?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,557

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Samsung's developer support site: http://innovator.samsungmobile.com/

    Try asking there.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: samsung j2me?

    I dont know which SDJ did you download, for me this is working fine.
    Well which SDK version do you have installed?
    Well which JDK version do you have installed?
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy Re: samsung j2me?

    Thanks for reply..........

    i am using samsung_sdk_1.2.0 & jdk 1.6

    samsung sdk beta release latest form

    http://innovator.samsungmobile.com/

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Quote Originally Posted by JustStarted View Post
    Thanks for reply..........

    i am using samsung_sdk_1.2.0 & jdk 1.6

    samsung sdk beta release latest form

    http://innovator.samsungmobile.com/
    May be some sort of the setting or some other issues, this is happening at your end.At my end everything work like perfect.
    How did you install these tools and SDK ?
    Which IDE are you using?
    please note that first install the IDE and then the JDK 1.6 or later and then the samsung SDK?
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy Re: samsung j2me?

    Hi thanks for reply..

    the issue is related to jad.

    Midlet Suite was not defined in jad..

    as soon as i defined it starts working.........

    now i have tried some basic j2me example on samsung..

    other than LSK & RSK other keys works fine.


    why lsk & rsk are not working?

    i have taken two codes from forum nokia
    1) http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...nts_processing

    2) http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...in_Java_ME_%3F


    but i face same problem in both cases for samsung only for sony it works fine.....



    any help???

    Thanks in advance

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Hello JustStarted,

    unfortunately I don't have a Samsung device to verify the issue, but based on your description this could be due to the implementation on the device, i.e. how commands are mapped on the Samsung platform.

    Have you asked about this issue in Samsung developer forums? (the link for the forums is on petrib's post #2)

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy Re: samsung j2me?

    Thanks for reply.,,,,,,,,,,,,,


    i searche a lot on the samsung site mentioned by petrib.

    but not found any satisfactory answer.


    Also when i tried nokia code mentioned (link is in my last post).

    there are few problems..

    Hope for this i will get solution here...?

    1)
    then it thr' exception
    Could not open listen socket?
    error=java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com/samsung/util/Vibration

    2) when i try for making a jar it shows error message
    can't find dynamically referenced class com.samsung.util.Vibration

    jar build but it is not working on any phone(not on nokia)..


    3)also getGameAction(key) from keypress thr' exception for rsk & lsk as i mentioned in last post.


    any help?

    Thanks once again............

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Based on those exceptions/errors, it seems that those related API classes are Samsung specific and work on Samsung devices only. It would be good to check whether the devices which you use for testing supports those APIs.

    For example, in the code you could check this by quering like this:

    Class classname=Class.forName("com.samsung.util.Vibration");

    If the class is not available on the device then related Exception will be thrown to inform about it.

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Quote Originally Posted by JustStarted View Post
    3)also getGameAction(key) from keypress thr' exception for rsk & lsk as i mentioned in last post.
    any help?
    Thanks once again............
    I would say that avoid to use the getGameAction(int keycode), since this depends upon the device to device.You better can use the keypressed() method and I am sure that the samsung's devices keycodes are the same as of the Nokia.
    While developing games for multiple J2ME/MIDP enabled mobile devices developers often face to the problem connecting to the identification of pressed keys. This happens for the reason that different mobile phone vendors use different key-codes for the same keys. Some keys can de defined with javax.microedition.lcdui.Canvas.getGameAction(int) method. But some could not, for example: erase key, back-key on SonyEricsson etc. This problem is redoubled in case JAR-file of the game intend for running on mobile phones of different vendors.

    I had worked for the Samsung and I found this much developer friendly.Therefore try to use the keypressed() and let us know the status of the results.
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24

    Re: samsung j2me?

    Yes,

    The nokia & Samsung Key press events appears exactly same..

    For me now the key press is happening as the same way as it happens for nokia.

    but is this happen with all samsung devices?

    Raj,

    Class classname=Class.forName("com.samsung.util.Vibration");

    If the class is not available on the device then related Exception will be thrown to inform about it.

    from where to include class.?

    i couldn't found it any where?

    why i need this..

    it will check on which device the code is running as per that i can make key event generic...

    thanks for help...

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME or C++ for VoIP on Mobile
    By sandeepkumar03 in forum VoIP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-02-02, 10:28
  2. J2ME or C++ for VoIP on Mobile Phone
    By sandeepkumar03 in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-13, 20:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×