Discussion Board

3D display on Nokia devices

Hey guys,

I'm new to develop mobile applications on Nokia devices, but I did some projects on Blackbarrys and SonyEricson.
    My question is more like a general "is that possible?".
    Here's the idea:
    There is this guy who takes pictures of an object (a car for example) in a very high resolution and all around it (360°). He creates movies and a Flash applications with that pictures to be able to see that object in 3D.
    So what I like to do now is to do that on a Nokia device and be able to "turn" the object. My thoughts were these:

1. Do it with a flash application (basically just display the one he created) and control it with the corresponding keys (or touch stuff)
    2. Put the (lower resolution) video on the device and control it with fast-forward/backward
    3. Or even create a Java-3D application (performace?)

I guess it also depends on the device which is going to be used.

So what do you guys think in general, any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: 3D display on Nokia devices

Hello derape,

and welcome to Forum Nokia Discussion Boards!

Or even create a Java-3D application (performace?)
    For Java ME development, there is Java API called JSR-184 3D Graphics API (M3G) for J2ME which could be used for your implementation. It would be interesting to know what kind of requirements you have for the application, in terms of performance and otherwise (like any specific devices in mind?).

More about JSR-184 can be found from:

Java Developer's Library 3.5 > Developer's Guides > UI and graphics > Mobile 3D graphics

Java Developer's Library 3.5 > Javadocs > Mobile 3D Graphics API

Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]