Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010

    Wink Mobile phone promotion

    on friday i got a /sms saying that i hv won a lottery ( 200,000GBP) and they want to send the cheque to me.

    below are the detials which i rcved.

    pls. advise whats going on here...pls. let me know coz i am really confused.


    Nokia House. Summit Avenue Southwood
    Farnborough Hampshire GU14 0NG.
    United Kingdom.

    Dear Chakrawarthige Ruchira Jayamal Fernando,
    Congratulations to you once again, on behalf of the management board of NOKIA UNITED KINGDOM. We do beleive that your winnings will be put into good use for community, education and as well business development. Your details has been received and verified. Your certified bank cheque and other empowering documents that will enable you to claim your prize at your country, has been picked up from our office by our accredited ''ACM EXPRESS COURIER LTD ''. The courier service are responsible for the delivery of your certified bank cheque and other empowering documents to your home address. You are required to contact the customer service department of ACM EXPRESS COURIER LTD with the contact details below.

    Names: Mr. Rayner Contreras
    Email: acmexpressdelivery@gmail.com
    Telephone: +44 703 1940 586

    1). Services rendered by ACM EXPRESS COURIER LTD are to be paid by you and not ACM EXPRESS COURIER LTD. Have it in mind that nothing can be deducted from your winning prize because it is a certified bank cheque. This is in accordance with section 13(1)(n) of the national gaming act as adopted in 1993 and amended on 3rd July 1996 by the constitutional assembly. This is to protect winners interest and to avoid misappropriation of funds.
    2). You have to contact ACM EXPRESS COURIER LTD with your FULL NAMES, HOME ADDRESS, MOBILE NUMBER, PACKAGE ID (ACM 44-684AQ) and as well as your VERIFICATION NUMBER (VYZ-120-832). Any claim not made before five (5) working days from the date of notification indicate that the winner has voluntarily forfeited his/her winnings.

    Yours Sincerely.
    Johnson Walden.
    Tel: +447024036940

    For Security reasons, you are adviced to keep your winning information EXTREMELY CONFIDENTIAL to avoid double claims by impostors.
    Hotmail is redefining busy with tools for the New Busy. Get more from your inbox. See how.


  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Tampere, Finland

    Re: Mobile phone promotion

    That's quite a long SMS And seems to be initiating from Hotmail as well. The email address quoted inside is from Gmail, there is no link to an official Nokia website and they promise you lots and lots of free money.

    Why exactly are you confused? It is a scam, you should delete the message and forget about it.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010

    Re: Mobile phone promotion

    but why do they do it under nokia name ? why don't you make an entry at police ?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Oslo, Norway

    Re: Mobile phone promotion

    Quote Originally Posted by ruchiraf View Post
    but why do they do it under nokia name ?
    Because Nokia is a known brand, while EmailFrauds-WeTakeYourMoney Co. is a less known one.

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting PC to Mobile Phone Via Bluetooth
    By Sapinou in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-04-13, 08:19
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-01-04, 07:49
  3. Address each mobile phone being connected to an apache server
    By Koryphäe in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2009-04-19, 07:19
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-09, 06:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts