×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    18

    Question WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    I'm trying to get my app to show all the available WLANs calling updateConfiguration and catching the signal through updateCompleted, filling then a LIST with the results, but I only get the already stored APs and none of the available WLANs in the area.

    What can be wrong?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    I am facing the same problem. The call returns only the stored APs (both WLAN and others).

    How do I do WLAN scanning using QT?

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    Quote Originally Posted by snisheeth View Post
    I am facing the same problem. The call returns only the stored APs (both WLAN and others).

    How do I do WLAN scanning using QT?
    Take a look at the bearer manager:
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtmobility-1...anagement.html

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    2,326

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    Quote Originally Posted by theopulus View Post
    I'm trying to get my app to show all the available WLANs calling updateConfiguration and catching the signal through updateCompleted, filling then a LIST with the results, but I only get the already stored APs and none of the available WLANs in the area.

    What can be wrong?

    A more complex example might be a Wireless LAN configuration which may comprise of hardware details such as the WLAN card address, wlan access point details and user specific information (for example username and password).

    Once the network interface was configured and started according to the configuration blue print, multiple applications are free to use this link layer connection/session for their own socket operations.

    Note that the QNetworkConfiguration object only provides limited information about the configuration details themselves. It's main purpose is to act as a configuration identifier through which link layer connections can be created, destroyed and monitored.

    QNetworkSession class is used for the session.

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...nnection_in_Qt

    Best regards,

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    2,326

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    Also you can see this below discussion which contains the test code for the WLAN, and discussed about bug.

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...LAN-connection

    Best regards,

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    Quote Originally Posted by gnuton View Post
    @gnuton, I am using the example listed on this link (bearercloud). The problem is, the call to updateConfiguration only returns the existing APs (created previously on the phone). It does not scan for available (new) wifi APs in the vicinity.

    I want to initiate a wifi scan, see the list returned and then connect to one of the new APs found. Is this possible with QT APIs?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    329

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    How do I do WLAN scanning using QT?
    You don't, it seems. On Symbian, you need to use WLAN Management API (CWlanMgmtClient, CWlanScanInfo from wlanmgmtclient.h) to initiate a WLAN scan. Currently Qt Mobility/Bearer Management implementation doesn't use it. There are also other methods to control the interval of automatic scans, but you'll need to resort to Symbian APIs in any case.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    18

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    ok then... I'll wait for Qt mobility to be mature enough as it seems each time I want to use a mobile feature I find it's not 100% possible with Qt

    Thanks for your answers...

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: WLAN Scan through QNetworkConfigurationManager::updateConfiguration()

    You can use "Mobile Extensions" for WLAN scanning. I was able to use it and scan for WLAN APs on a Symbian phone. It does not give you full-fledged WLAN manager (e.g. you cannot add/configure APs), but simple scanning works good enough.

    Mobile Extensions

Similar Threads

  1. WLAN scan interval
    By patrickfrei in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-08, 20:41
  2. No cancel of scan in WLAN Management API
    By martinpeterzon in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-02-27, 08:24
  3. Modify WLAN scan frequency
    By martinpeterzon in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-26, 10:38
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-11-13, 09:31
  5. Change WLAN minim scan internal in central reposity from 15 sec to e.g. 0sec
    By AndySH in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-11-03, 11:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×