×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: LAC = null

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Question LAC = null

    Hi Symbian & J2ME Experts

    I am trying to develop an app in J2me for Symbian 60 3rd Ed to fetch and display CellID, MNC, MCC, LAC & IMSI and I am using following code to fetch the value

    cellid = System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.cellid");
    mcc = System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.countrycode");
    mnc = System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.networkid");
    lac = System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.lac");
    imei = System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.imei");

    This works fine for all except lac, it always gets null value. I goggled it and found that I am not the only one facing this problem.

    Please can anybody help me with the solution.

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards

    Joel

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,561

    Re: LAC = null

    The page

    http://library.forum.nokia.com/index...B925CF670.html

    seems to indicate, that it works only on S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2 based devices.

    So, try your app on an S60 3rd Ed. FP2 device and see if it returns something else then.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: LAC = null

    Thanks pertib

    I am testing this app on Nokia E72 handset which by default is S60 3rd Ed. FP2. device.

    Regards

    Joel

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: LAC = null

    Check that your not connected to any 2G network at the time when you are trying to get this property.
    Please refer to this link:

    http://library.forum.nokia.com/index...C996A25D7.html

    com.nokia.mid.lac

    Returns current GSM location area code (LAC) as a string. The SIM card must be inserted and service acquired in order to return a LAC value, otherwise returns null.

    This value applies only to 2G devices.

    S60 3rd Edition FP 2
    Thanks,
    Ekta

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: LAC = null

    Hi Ekta

    My handset is having SIM card inserted and also connected to 2G network (vodafone).

    Regards

    Joel
    Mumbai, India

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: LAC = null

    Quote Originally Posted by joel.divekar View Post
    Hi Ekta

    My handset is having SIM card inserted and also connected to 2G network (vodafone).

    Regards

    Joel
    Mumbai, India
    Check the device network settings, it should be GSM, not UMTS or Dual Mode. Most of networks are 2.5G in Mumbai India.... check with Vodafone?
    do you see GPRS symbol when connected to internet or EDGE ?
    Thanks,
    Ekta

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: LAC = null

    Hi Ekta

    Yes true, most of our networks in the city are running on 2.5G. Still as suggested I changed my network setting from Dual mode to GSM and tested the app but still no luck ...

    This doesn't help me with my development .... I hope somebody in the Nokia technical team is listening to my request to get this property working for 2.5G & 3G networks.

    Thanks Again

    Joel Divekar
    Mumbai, India

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: LAC = null

    Quote Originally Posted by joel.divekar View Post
    Hi Ekta

    Yes true, most of our networks in the city are running on 2.5G. Still as suggested I changed my network setting from Dual mode to GSM and tested the app but still no luck ...

    This doesn't help me with my development .... I hope somebody in the Nokia technical team is listening to my request to get this property working for 2.5G & 3G networks.

    Thanks Again

    Joel Divekar
    Mumbai, India
    For some kind of Location info needed in your application you get the CellID using com.nokia.mid.cellid and then you can query any Open cellID database on the net the like one from google to get some info about your cell tower location (try www.opencellid.org/).
    Using CBS, capturing CBS message on channel 50 also yo can get some cell info try that : http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ture_Cell_Info
    Thanks,
    Ekta

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: LAC = null

    Thanks Ekta. But Telecoms due use CBS for displaying Advt & public messages.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: LAC = null

    Quote Originally Posted by joel.divekar View Post
    Thanks Ekta. But Telecoms due use CBS for displaying Advt & public messages.
    Try to explore more on CBS, most of the telecom's do provide location info alternatively with ads or at the end of the ads.... and they have a fixed prefix for location info which can be used to identify it.
    Thanks,
    Ekta

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17

    Re: LAC = null

    Hi all,
    i have the same problem with joel.divekar
    i use S60 5th ed, and only lac that i can't get.

    is anyone developed this and get the lac?

    tq

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: LAC = null

    This is probably just a bug in Nokia J2ME. I have 5530XpressMusic which is 2G-only devices, all other cell-id values are coming, except LAC. Also tried with the N8 and nothing is better there.

Similar Threads

  1. CellId or LAC
    By cyrille72 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-06-23, 11:29
  2. Getting location using LAC
    By s.abulkalamazad in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-09-17, 04:39
  3. VideoControl.getSnapshot(null) returns null-value
    By cipherovski in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-01-11, 07:31
  4. how to get cellID and LAC
    By jackjojo in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-14, 07:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×