×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Hi Folks,
    this should prolly best be filed as bug - this code returns false:
    Code:
    	QFile file1(QDir::tempPath() + "/bgm.wav");
    qDebug() << QDir::tempPath() + "/bgm.wav";
    	if (file1.open(QIODevice::ReadWrite))
    	{
    		// file.fileName() returns the unique file name
    		QFile workFile(":/sfx/rsc/music/bgm.wav");
    		if(workFile.open(QIODevice::ReadOnly))
    		{
    		file1.write(workFile.readAll());
    		workFile.close();
    		}
    		file1.close();
    	}
    
    	qDebug() << QSound::isAvailable();
    	QSound::play(QDir::tempPath() + "/bgm.wav");
    The sound file can, however, be played with Phonon!
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    QSound uses NAS(Network Audio Sound) on Linux/X11. Qt is compiled without the NAS support...
    Phonon works because it uses gstreamer.
    I think this a well known issue...

    If you file the bug, please post here the bug reference number.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Hello,
    done as ordered:
    QTBUG-11555

    Tam
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nantes, France
    Posts
    37

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    So this means that Simulator won't play any QSound file under Linux ? If so thanks for the bug filling, I am interested in too.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Quote Originally Posted by Guilo19 View Post
    So this means that Simulator won't play any QSound file under Linux ? If so thanks for the bug filling, I am interested in too.
    No, it could work there. Anyway if it works on the simulator and it doesn't on the device.. it's useless...isn't it?

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Quote Originally Posted by tamhanna View Post
    Hello,
    done as ordered:
    QTBUG-11555

    Tam
    People who are interested on this bug, can check the itsstatus, comments and watch it at http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-11555

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    They have already closed it - not interested in fixing...
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Quote Originally Posted by tamhanna View Post
    They have already closed it - not interested in fixing...
    I think so. although NAS build fine in scratchbox.
    QSound sucks compared to Phonon or to the new Mobility multimedia framework.

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QSound()::isAvailable false on N900

    Not really.

    Creating looping sound with Phonon is all but impossible.
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

Similar Threads

  1. QSound Usage
    By atonical in forum Nokia N9
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-04-12, 07:17
  2. N900 not on selected mobile list N900 search problems
    By jimgilmour1 in forum [Closed] Publishing to Nokia Store
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-02-16, 09:30
  3. InputStream.isAvailable() bug?
    By darcone in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-04-05, 11:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •