Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Symbian^3 SDK v0.8: can't find application in emulator

Hi all!

I'm new to the Symbian world, and just installed the Nokia Symbian^3 SDK v0.8. The installation went fine and I followed item 5 of the installation guide (Verifying SDK Installation)... I built an application just fine, but I can't find it in the emulator!

Here is what I did:

• Opened the command prompt
    • Set Nokia Symbian^SDK as the default device:
      ?> devices -setdefault @Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8:com.nokia.s60
      ?> devices
      Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8:com.nokia.s60 - default
    • ?> cd \Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\examples\symbian\gui\helloworldbasic\group
    • ?> bldmake bldfiles
    • ?> abld build

There were no errors during the build, but many warnings (like 'warning: no newline at end of file' and 'warning: "/*" within comment').

Every time I start epoc, after about 4 min. it displays the message:
    Memory low. Delete or
    move some data from C:
    Phone memory.
    But the emulation continues without any other problem. On the emulator keyboard I click a button that shows a menu with the "Applications" button. I click "Applications" and the following list appears:
    Calculator, Clock, Converter, Notes, Recorder, Search,
    Log, Camera, User guide, Debug Agent, eshell, File mgr.,
    Mail, SW update, JavaCap, Location, Oper. menu, SimLockUI,
    TCKRunner, User Dict. and Radio.
    No "helloworldbasic" anywhere...

I noticed many "HelloWorldBasic" files on the following directories under C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\:
    data\z\private\10003a3f\import\apps\
    data\z\resource\apps\
    include\
    localisation\
    localisation\group\
    localisation\HelloWorldBasic\rsc\
    localisation\HelloWorldBasic_reg\
    release\gcce\udeb\
    release\gcce\urel\