Discussion Board

Nokia Developer Expert

Unable to Build for Symbian Emulator or Device

Hi,

I am just trying to get started with Qt development, specifically for Symbian, so I applogise if I am asking noob type questions, but I am a noob to all this :-)

I am trying to build / run the MyFirstApp example that is floating about (a simple list widget and line edit). I can build the app fine for Window Desktop, however as soon as I try and build and run it for Symbian (Emulator or Target Device) I get an error that reports the is no RVCT installation and abld.bat is trying to build using that compiler. It exists with Error Code 2.

I followed the steps in the instruction video's for setting up the dev environment, the only difference being I selected the Symbian^3 SDK. I do not have the ARM compiler installed and at the moment I don't need to be compliing using that, I just want to have a play around and start learning this stuff.

Is there a way to prevent projects from trying to compile through this and just use GCCE? Is it even possible to compile an app for Symbian without the ARM compiler?

I have tried so many different things that I have read and followed all the instructions exactly, but when I follow the MyFirstApp video I get the error on compile.

I would really appreciate any help with this! Once again, sorry if I am being a complete noob.

Super Contributor

Re: Unable to Build for Symbian Emulator or Device

If you are making your program for Qt , then you just need either Qt creator or Qt SDK,

But for the device debugging you need symbian device, just check the below web for that :

http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ng_with_AppTRK

Best regards,

Super Contributor

Re: Unable to Build for Symbian Emulator or Device