Discussion Board

Thread: QT Performance

Question QT Performance

I picked up a Nokia 5230 last weekend for my new provider. I also picked up the QT dev SDK to start building some games. I started off with a Mandelbrot to get myself familiar with QT UI and direct graphics rendering, which is a large part of what I like to do. While the calculations for the Mandelbrot seem a little to much for my device (what a shame), I was shocked by load time to run my app. It must have been the QT libraries (~10MB?). My phone is no power house like iPhone or some of the latest Nokia smart phones, but how can QT be a serious development tool with such a crazy load time?

I've tried Symbian C++ as well, but the emulator was flaky and the project files were god awful messy (yes, I'm a developer with standards I'm not sure what to do here. Can anyone else shed some light on this? 10MB extra download + lengthy load times is not very attractive.

Super Contributor

Re: QT Performance

What are you complaining about, the emulator startup time or the time it takes to load an application on the real device?

I'm referring to the poor performance on the device itself. The emulator runs like a jet plane on my PC. I've tried a couple games from the Ovi store and they load and run pretty decently, including one 3d software rendered game. They don't use the QT framework, so I presume these are just vanilla Symbian C++ games. I haven't been able to find any QT games to test against, but it would be nice so I can gauge the performance. Thus anyone's feedback on this matter would be appreciated.

Super Contributor

Some apps take a few seconds to load on our N97 -- certainly not as snappy as an iPhone in general -- but I haven't noticed it being especially bad. How long of a delay are you seeing?

Super Contributor