Discussion Board

Question Problems using QtDesigner - paths to tools?

I am trying to us Qt for Symbian & S60 development. I am new to all 3 technologies. I am doing my development on WinXP. I have installed the Nokia Qt SDK 1.0 per the instructions on this page http://www.forum.nokia.com/Develop/Qt/Tools/ and then installed the desktop qt sdk 2010.04. I used all the defaults of the installs.

This question concerns QtDesigner.

After creating and saving a widget I cannot view the code (menu "Form"->"View code...") When I do I get an error message:
    "Unable to launch C:\ndk_desktop_qt\bin\uic."

I do not have a "C:\ndk_desktop_qt" folder and never have. I don't know why it is looking there.

Additionally, if I try to start the QTDesigner help I get a similar error: "The binary 'C:\ndk_desktop_qt\bin\assistant.exe' does not exist".
    This is of course correct - it doesn't. I don't have that folder.

I don't get any code generated from the forms I create QtDesigner for use in QtCreator either which I assume is related.

That is the real problem I'd like to fix. If someone can just explain how I am supposed to use a form created in QtDesigner in a QtCreator project that would be good enough for me. I can't get that to work either.

Why is it looking for these executables in the wrong location? How can I change where it is looking for them? I haven't found any setting which specifies the location.

Re: Problems using QtDesigner - paths to tools?

First: You don't need the desktop qt sdk 2010.04 version. All needed tools for developing Qt application for Symbian should are inside the Nokia Qt SDK.

Then sorry for adding the confusing component QtDesigner. You don't need it. All tools from it are inside the QtCreator if you are creating a *.ui file.
    The designer component was more a request from some developers which had problems with the embedded QtDesigner plugins inside QtCreator.