Discussion Board

Installing Java Applications

I'm sorry I'm really new to this...I'm a perl/linux guy =) if I'm not posting in the right forum please advise so I can correct this. I'm setting up a server with 2 ssh deamons running. 1 for normal ssh activity restricted by iptables to control where people can connect from. Another I wanted to setup on port 2222. I was going to use a pam module to challage for one time passwords in addition to normal security. I want to basically be able to ssh from my phone into my network at the office. So I have this html page with 3 small java applets I need to have on my phone so I can take the response from the server and calculate a one time password. my question is how do I get this page and applets onto my Nokia 9290 so I can use them? should be fairly simple right? I don't need to code anything cool for my phone yet. any advise would be much appreciated.

Regular Contributor
    you can not run java applets on mobile phones. java applets rely on the standart development kit(sdk) / runtime environment (jre). the jre download is about 8 megs... so no chance to get it running on the phone.

you may be able to transform the applets to a j2me application that gets the one-time password as response to a http post/get request.

applets and midlets are somehow (both have a restricted env.) compareable but applets do not run on mobile phones.

ossipetz,

thats strange becuase I have this 1M java.sis file that is installed on my phone and it's description is: Java 1.08 MB Java OS.

http://www.nokiausa.com/communicator...,1362,,00.html

that asside. the browser and most of the applications seem to be java applets. Hence the Mercury Messanger I have (granted doesn't run that well) but Web Viewer a browser I have is also a java applet...so I don't understand?

have you been to symbian's web site? www.symbian.com

this is from their site: