Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Question Make Qt Designer look like a Mobile app

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to Symbian C++, Symbian in general and Qt... I however come from a strong background on general C++, iPhone, Android and some others...

When I create a new project all I get is a Windows form which I get is ok given that I'm coding on a Win machine... But I would really like to look at it like a Symbian^1 form given thats my target platform. More over, our designers here will provide me all the images to create the customized GUI for the application. Even when I try to change the styleSheet, the changes like background color appear on the Simulator but nothing happens on Qt Designer...

How can I make Qt Designer be more "WYSIWYG" on my particular case? Am I doing something terribly wrong?

Thanks a lot for your help!
    Last edited by MatuX; 2010-07-07 at 22:13.

Regular Contributor

Re: Make Qt Designer look like a Mobile app

Hey everyone!

No replies? This question can't be that ridiculous! Or perhaps the obvious answer is eluding me

Anyways, it would be nice if I wouldn't have to create the GUI blindly

Thanks a lot anyways!
    Last edited by MatuX; 2010-07-08 at 15:56.

Super Contributor

Sometimes Qt is like the dog that walks on its hind legs -- it doesn't do it well, but the fact that it can do it at all is remarkable.

Regular Contributor

I'm about to desist from using Qt and go straight to Symbian C++. I find it very difficult to wrap my head around Desktop UI concepts on a Mobile environment.
    I guess I'll have to wait until Qt matures a bit more so I feel more comfortable using it to create Mobile apps!

Not saying Qt is bad! Just that, I don't know, perhaps I'm too used to iPhone/Android/RIM or even Java ME way of doing things.

Super Contributor