×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    113

    Do I need a license for Qt?

    Perhaps this is a very stupid question, but while watching the Introduction to Qt on Mobile Platforms it mentions I need a license for my commercial application.

    Do I really need a license to create an application and sell it on the Ovi Store?

    Best!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    No.
    Qt applications are self certified, if you use then Qt Creator IDE.
    I've tested that with my nokia6120 classic.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    113

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    Thanks a lot! I really got worried for a moment...

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    It's still a bit of an elephant in the room, but most everyone (including the Nokia folks I've talked to) are working on the assumption that you don't need the licensed version of Qt to develop apps for Nokia products, whether or not you charge for them. Not so clear about other platforms.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    What I heard at a Nokia event (and how I understand the LGPL), no.
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    An elephant in the room? Where's the elephant?

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    240

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    Qt is LGPL that means, you can link to Qt libs at run time freely and if you want to make changes to Qt source eg. bug fixes to Qt code, enhancements to Qt code, you have to make those changes open source.
    In my opinion, normally application developers will not go to the depth of changing Qt code.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Do I need a license for Qt?

    Quote Originally Posted by datha_k View Post
    Qt is LGPL that means, you can link to Qt libs at run time freely and if you want to make changes to Qt source eg. bug fixes to Qt code, enhancements to Qt code, you have to make those changes open source.
    In my opinion, normally application developers will not go to the depth of changing Qt code.
    And if you do, it usually is better to just give them back to Nokia so that they will remain in future versions of the libraries.
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

Similar Threads

  1. Can I publish QT app to Ovi store and get paid (Nokia QT SDK non commercial license)
    By stepic in forum [Closed] Publishing to Nokia Store
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-06-27, 04:55
  2. Exception: License 109218 License expired 6/13/2010
    By wantrahul in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-06-21, 10:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×