×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    England,UK
    Posts
    1,600

    Symbian ^3 0.8 and Qt 4.6.3 wont work together without patching wont link

    Hi,
    There have been quite a few people asking to use Symbian ^ 3 with Qt 4.6.3 in the Qt SDK and Tools discussion.

    My finding are
    Code:
    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>make  -f "\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbia
    n3_SDK_v0.8\EPOC32\BUILD\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector\SIMPLESELECTOR_
    0XA000D7CC\GCCE\SIMPLESELECTOR_0XA000D7CC.GCCE" UREL
    C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\tools\make.exe: *** No rule to make 
    target `\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\qtmain.lib', needed by `\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\simpleselector.exe'.  Stop.
    This SDK is going to the wrong path even though the correct paths is given.
    See below when I put a copy of qtmain.lib in \Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\qtmain.lib' the linker started.
    Code:
    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>make  -f "\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbia
    n3_SDK_v0.8\EPOC32\BUILD\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector\SIMPLESELECTOR_
    0XA000D7CC\GCCE\SIMPLESELECTOR_0XA000D7CC.GCCE" UREL
    checklib stdc++ --elf \Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\ARMV5\urel\qtmain.lib
    The lib exists at "\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\ARMV5\urel\qtmain.lib"

    Finally the compiler (linker) coughs an unfixable error

    Code:
    \Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\qtmain.lib(qts60main_mcrt0.o): In function `BuildAttributes$$ARM_ISAv6$M$E$P$PE$A:L22$X:L11$S22$
    IEEE1$IW$USESV6$~STKCKD$USESV7$~SHL$OSPACE$IEEEJ$EBA8$UX$REQ8$PRES8$EABIv2':\iwmae\buildS60____PADDING________\src\s60main\qts60main_mcrt0.cpp:(.ARM.extab+0xc): undefined reference to `typeinfo for std::exception'
    
    C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\tools\make.exe: *** [\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\simpleselector.exe] Error 1

    There appears only one reference on the Dibo see http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ined-reference

    No matter how many libraries or versions used this will not link
    the file simpleselector.exe is not created . A map is created but I cannot see any errors in this.


    Thanks,
    Jim

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,674

    Re: Symbian ^3 0.8 and Qt 4.6.3 wont work together without patching wont link

    If you have some time, you could try using std::exception separately (without Qt magic), even re-using code from the referred thread (it has inline methods only). If that can not work, Qt has little chances.
    http://qt.gitorious.org/qt/qt/blobs/...main_mcrt0.cpp and http://qt.gitorious.org/qt/qt/blobs/...bal.h#line2459 seem to be rather harmless, std::exception is required for a simple catch.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    England,UK
    Posts
    1,600

    Re: Symbian ^3 0.8 and Qt 4.6.3 wont work together without patching wont link

    Hi,
    I think I will just wait. I am quite happy with Nokia Qt SDK. Just wanted to see if there was simple fix like copying a couple of files around.
    Unless I get an N8 given to me, unlikely ;-). This will not worry me.
    Thanks,
    Jim

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    England,UK
    Posts
    1,600

    Re: Symbian ^3 0.8 and Qt 4.6.3 wont work together without patching wont link

    Finally after rebuilding on a new clean system I seem to have an answer.
    Install the nokia symbian ^3
    Next install Qt 4.6.3-2 which pickups the S^3 install

    Must be the LATEST version of Qt Symbian!

    cd C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector

    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>qmake simpleselector.pro

    make release-gcce

    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>make release-gcce
    bldmake bldfiles
    BLDMAKE ERROR: Can't find any RVCT installation.
    C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\tools\make.exe: *** [ABLD.BAT] E
    rror 1
    This error means remove ARM5 and ARM6 from bld.inf
    Code:
    / ============================================================================
    // * Makefile for building: simpleselector
    // * Generated by qmake (2.01a) (Qt 4.6.3) on: 2010-07-20T07:36:25
    // * This file is generated by qmake and should not be modified by the
    // * user.
    // * Project:  simpleselector.pro
    // * Template: app
    // ============================================================================
    
    #define BLD_INF_SIMPLESELECTOR_00DF0F80
    
    
    prj_platforms
    
    WINSCW GCCE   // <---- look *NO* ARM5 or ARM6
    // was WINSCW GCCE  ARM5  ARM6
    
    
    prj_mmpfiles
    
    gnumakefile Makefile_0xA000D7CC.mk
    simpleselector_0xA000D7CC.mmp
    
    prj_extensions
    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>make release-gcce

    now builds file but wont link as before
    Code:
    make[2]: *** No rule to make target `\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\ep
    32\release\gcce\urel\qtmain.lib', needed by `\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK
    0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\simpleselector.exe'.  Stop.
    make[1]: *** [TARGETSIMPLESELECTOR_0XA000D7CC] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.6.3/examples/webkit/simpleselector'
    copy qtmain.lib from C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\armv6\urel\qtmain.lib

    to C:\Nokia\devices\Nokia_Symbian3_SDK_v0.8\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\qtmain.lib

    simpleselector.exe now links

    and


    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>make sis

    works
    make -s -f Makefile ok_sis
    Processing simpleselector_release-gcce.pkg...
    Created simpleselector_unsigned.sis.
    Successfully created simpleselector.sis for release-gcce using certificate: Self
    Signed!

    C:\Qt\4.6.3\examples\webkit\simpleselector>


    So thats the two problems
    1) turning off ARM5 and ARM6 support
    2) copy the ARM6 qtmain.lib NOT the ARM5 qtmain.lib as in the README.txt install notes to another place path

    Of course I cannot test this as I dont have a N8 phone to test on!!.

    Jim


    Thanks,
    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. emulator wont work
    By WildHeart in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-07-07, 15:14
  2. Remote compiler wont work with Qt Mobility examples
    By jimgilmour1 in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-07-05, 09:14
  3. Audio wont work
    By sandaragirl99 in forum Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-06, 15:39
  4. Vibration wont work..!!
    By mayankkedia in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-06-19, 10:29
  5. 6100 it wont work
    By philer in forum Browsing and Mark-ups
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-07-29, 07:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×