×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Question How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Hi!
    I have QT 4.6.2 in my C: drive (unpacked from the two sis files, QT.sis & QTWebKit.sis, as I was unable to install).
    Yet whenever I attempt to install a Symbian QT app I get the error 'Component QT Missing' and sometimes 'Component QTWebKit Missing'.
    However when I run the app, it runs with no problems.

    How can I fix this problem and what file(s) does the the installation search for?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Please make it clear -- by "my C: drive" are you referring to the C: drive of your PC or the C: drive of your phone?

    Generally, to install Qt on a phone you should install "qt_installer.sis". It contains all the needed parts (other than Mobility).

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Oh my apologies
    I was referring to the C: drive in my phone

    I hate these messages and want to know is there a file I can put in my phones C: drive (or Z: if necessary) to remove this error

    I'm also worried I won't be able to install QT apps from the Ovi Store because of this problem.

    Thanks for the reply, I hope I can this community can help me

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    You probably should remove the files you've installed so far and then install qt_installer.sis.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Quote Originally Posted by danhicksbyron View Post
    You probably should remove the files you've installed so far and then install qt_installer.sis.
    Tried it, wouldn't install (component built-in error)

    It would be easier if someone could tell me which files an installation sis for a QT app searches for to check if QT WebKit and QT are in the phone memory.


    EDIT: I've also tried making a ROFS2 with QT 4.6.2, then QT 4.7, hoping it would fix the problem but I still got the error message.
    The error is clearly wrong as the four QT apps I tested (one requiring QTWebKit) worked fine (slightly faster IMO due to QT files being in Z)
    Last edited by shadowninty; 2010-07-19 at 10:58.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,545

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Which phone model do you have?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    Quote Originally Posted by petrib View Post
    Which phone model do you have?
    5530xm v30.0.009 (Its hacked by CFW if that helps)

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...r.sis&p=721285

    qt_installer.sis contains:

    pips.sis
    open_ssl.sis
    stdcpp.sis
    qt.sis
    qtwebkit.sis
    qt_installer.exe

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    You might try resetting the phone:

    http://en.kioskea.net/faq/470-how-to-reset-your-nokia

    Supposedly the "hard reset" deletes all installed applications and puts you phone back to factory state. (I've never wanted to try it to find out, though.)

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    I know about QT installer
    And I have tried restting

    I believe that I need to have a QT installation record in C:\sys\install\sisregistry\

    If anybody would be so kind as to upload their sisregistry in a zip/rar/7z file so I can see if I can solve it that way

    Thanks in Advance!

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Smile Re: How To Fix 'Component QT Missing' Error Message?

    OK managed to get the installer to recognise QT 4.7 in Z: by putting a QT stub-sis and QTWebKit stub-sis from the S^3 PDK in Z:\System\Install\

    If anyone wants a 5530 CFW for QT development you can contact me

Similar Threads

  1. component 'python for s60' missing
    By ashraf fawzy in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-05, 17:07
  2. Nokia Qt SDK missing QT Mobility - messaging
    By Zeddeh in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-06-07, 08:46
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-04-30, 11:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •