×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: MIDlet suite

  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    136

    MIDlet suite

    What is the MIDlet suite?

    (1) If I create a project with two MIDlets within the same package, then can I say that those two MIDlets becomes the componets of the MIDlet suite?

    (2) If so, If I want to create a MIDlet suite, I just need to create MIDlets under the same package and then they automatically becomes the members of the MIDlet suite?

    (3) I created a project and then create two MIDlets ( file->new->Java ME MIDlet ).
    And When I run the project, A form with the title "Select Java MIDlet".
    In that form,
    there is also a text as
    "Select type(?=any character, *=any String, TZ=TimeZone);"
    and there is a text box with **

    and there is also the text "Matching items:"
    under that , I can choose the two MIDlet I have created.

    What is the meaning of that form?
    What I have to do with that?
    Please explain me.

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    189

    Re: MIDlet suite

    Hello,

    While you can work with individual MIDlets for developing and testing purposes, it is best to create MIDlets within a MIDlet suite. The MIDlet suite helps you to package your MIDlet application and prepare it for deployment.

    MIDlet suites give you more control over your MIDP applications. A MIDlet suite organizes the source files and attribute files for a MIDP application. When you build a MIDlet suite, the tool automatically creates the necessary JAR file that contains the application files.

    (1) If I create a project with two MIDlets within the same package, then can I say that those two MIDlets becomes the componets of the MIDlet suite?
    Yes


    (2) If so, If I want to create a MIDlet suite, I just need to create MIDlets under the same package and then they automatically becomes the members of the MIDlet suite?
    Yes

    For more info on how to add multiple midlets see this
    Regards,
    Dinanath


    It's a matter of attitude.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: MIDlet suite

    (3) I created a project and then create two MIDlets ( file->new->Java ME MIDlet ).
    And When I run the project, A form with the title "Select Java MIDlet".
    This is a device generated Menu for the end user to select 1 of the Midlet's in the suite to execute.
    Thanks,
    Ekta

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-07-10, 12:07
  2. Identical MIDlet and MIDlet suite names?
    By rp@memeticdesign.de in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-06-16, 17:51
  3. Midlet Suite accessing other Midlet Suites' RMS
    By je_alipio in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-09-14, 13:23
  4. midlet suite
    By j2me_raj in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-03-17, 06:24
  5. midlet suite
    By j2me_raj in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-03-14, 05:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×