×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    20

    App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Hi,

    I've made an application which runs perfectly on the simulator, and after some efforts, I've been able to deploy it to a real device:

    It's a self-signed application for a Symbian device.
    I was able to create <myapp>_installer.sis, I transfer this file to real device using USB cable, and then I started the installer connected to the web using WiFi so all Qt components may be installed.

    No errors... Installation was succesful.

    But when I try to start my application, nothing happens... no errors, no warnings, no main window being shown, no nothing.

    This is main.cpp for my app:

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication a(argc, argv);

    pPrincipal *principal;
    principal = new pPrincipal();
    principal->show();
    return a.exec();
    }

    ... where pPrincipal is QMainWindow derived class.

    I must tell you this is my first Qt app, so it may be something obvious that I'm missing.

    Thank you

    P.S. I place my thread in this forum due to I'm using QtMobility Location API.
    Last edited by jccorral; 2010-07-29 at 02:56.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Note that you never free memory principal is pointing to. Of course it cannot prevent application from launching.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,569

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Which device model? And did you install qt_installer.sis on the device before you installed your own application?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    20

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Thank you Daniil.

    Petrib, this is the model I'm using for deployment:

    http://www.forum.nokia.com/Devices/D...fications/E63/

    And, yes I've checked and Qt was properly installed. I actually used 'Smart Installer' procedure which allow me to create a unique sis files for installing both: Qt and my app.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    173

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    On my case with e71 (60.3.1), when i want deploy application
    built with Qt on device, i do as follows :

    1
    I connect my device to computer with USB cable.
    2
    Then i put device to : USB Connection mode : PC Suite (I downloaded
    Nokia Ovi Suite that installed USB drivers - NOT PC SUITE).
    3
    After that i start TRK from my device to listen computer.
    4
    After that i compile Qt application as "device", and
    Qt detects my device and shows on Qt's sceen, that
    my device is E71, and after that Qt starts to deploy application
    on my device via USB connection.

    May be, that WIfi is not fully working on the whole application's
    installation procedure?
    Last edited by teknikko; 2010-07-29 at 17:14.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    20

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Thank you teknikko.

    I wasn't aware of the existence of such thing as the appTRK. So I installed on my device and tried to run APP within QtCreator.
    At least now I get an error message:
    ---------------------------
    Executable file: 106669 2010-07-28T20:00:23 E:\NokiaQtSDK\Symbian\SDK\epoc32\release\gcce\urel\gesTel.exe
    Package: 96496 2010-07-29T11:33:50 E:\nokiaProyectos\proyectos\gesTel\gesTel.sis
    Deploying application to 'Nokia E63 USB (COM10)'...
    Copying installation file...
    Installing application...
    Starting application...
    Could not start application: General OS-related error
    Finished.
    ----------------------

    As you may notice, installing is not the problem, but the app just can't start.

    ¿What's this General OS Error?
    ¿Does it has something to do with:
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...-related-error
    ?

    I'm using Location API and generating a self signed SIS. ¿Could that be the problem?
    According to this:
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...gn_Certificate
    "...Starting with S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2 release (aka S60 3.2) the Location capability can also be granted to self-signed applications. "

    And the Model I'm using is third edition FP1. I'll try to get different model / Symbian edition and check what happens.
    Last edited by jccorral; 2010-07-29 at 18:25.

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    What version of mobility are you using? 1.0.1 is broken.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    20

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Thank you Dan, nice to "see" you again,

    I'm using 1.0.1 indeed.

    I wasn't able to get different model, so I 'commented' every reference to QtMobility Location API.... And everything started working.

    So, ¿Will it make any difference if I get another model with different Symbian Edition? or ¿Should I try to install previous version of Qt Mobility?

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    You can either get mobility.sis for 1.0.0 and recompile your code against that, or, without recompiling, find the 1.0.2 .sis (just out, I understand) and install that on your phone. The 1.0.2 .sis is supposedly compatible with code compiled against 1.0.1.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    73

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Yep - info and link to QtMobility 1.0.2 is available from http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/2010...-102-released/

    My app works fine with this new version, either compiling against 1.0.1 or 1.0.2.

    (Still not available on the Smart Installer though AFAICT? Which would be needed to deploy apps to users.)

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    20

    Re: App runs in simulator but not on real device

    Thanks to all.

    I'll update QtMobility and deploy it to test my application.
    Now I have some other models to test with. I'll be asking for your help if I found further problems. Thank you.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    32

    Need help!!

    Hi I am new to Qt development. I need to know whether it is possible to develop applications for Nokia E63 with Qt? If yes, is everything can be done with Qt like file access, network access, wifi access, gps locating etc.

    Hope you will help me. Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-06-27, 17:52
  2. [Nokia Qt Simulator] wrong app/device size
    By vladest in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-04-30, 07:35
  3. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2008-08-02, 02:53
  4. Midlet runs on 7650 emulator but not on real device
    By hlehtimaki in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-07-15, 09:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×