Discussion Board

displaying japanese character or hindi character on phone

Im trying to display hindi characters on phone by reading from a file.....But the file is like a junk(like ??? ??) of characters....how can i read it and display those on emulator????I tried it but the same junk is getting printed on phone...So please solve this problem................

Re: displaying japanese character or hindi character on phone

actually i used unicodes...but when i directly give tht unicode string on program it displays the appropriate character...but while reading from a file problem arises...... i am new to j2me..so please tell me how shud i save the unicode file????my file contains series like \u\u0915\u093E\u0935\......is this fine????????how do i read it????

Hi akhil0706,

How are you saving the data ? If it is showing the ???? means you are not saving it as a utf-8 file . First open the file and copy any Unicode characters in to the file and save file as utf-8 . if you are using the note pad in that when you are saving the file you have an option of specifying the encoding type select that as utf-8.

When you read the file read the bytes as utf-8 encoding .

Super Contributor

Note also that besides saving the data correctly, you also need to have font files with the correct characters/glyphs. Without the right fonts, the characters won't show (Nokia does not ship, e.g., Hindi fonts on phones made for and sold in countries/regions where Hindi is not an official language; same with Japanese, Chinese, Hebrew, Arabic, etc.).

Regular Contributor