×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    188

    Question How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    Hi All,

    I have developed an application in j2me for series 40 devices and its perfectly working fine.
    Now I want to run the same j2me application on Android mobile.
    But I don't know the procedure and steps to run.
    Can any body please guide me or if possible provide me some useful link.....

    Thanks & Regards,
    Ajit

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,569

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    I don't think Android phones run regular J2ME apps, but you must use Google's Android SDK where they use their own Java version and libraries: http://developer.android.com/index.html

    And as Nokia has no Android based phones, instead of asking on Forum Nokia, ask on Android developer forums: http://developer.android.com/resourc...ty-groups.html

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    264

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    hi copy your j2me app or download it.
    1 From the home screen , open application list and select java Me Apps.
    2 Select an application if it is not listed there.
    you can press the button with an up arrow that is just above the calling button (Green Button for making a call though it is not green in this case). It will scan all application in your SD card and display all java application present there. you can install your application from the list.. hope it helps .. You can even search your handset manual . i read all information from the same. and now i am able to run java me app on my Android phone..
    Thanks & Regards
    Gaurav Gupta

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    @ Gaurav - on which Android phones you have tested these java me apps...?
    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    (Champion of the Month -Aug'13)
    Follow me on my blog for Innovative Mobile Apps

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    264

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    I tested on Samsung galaxy spica GT15700.
    Thanks & Regards
    Gaurav Gupta

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    188

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    Hi Amit,

    I want to run in Motorola Milestone Android mobile.


    Thanks & Regards,
    Ajit

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    My HTC Magic and HTC Hero actually don't run midlets out-of-the-box...
    After all, Android is not J2ME...
    Note: please don't send private questions to me, as I don't have time to provide private support. All such questions should be posted on public forums, where I and others can see and answer them.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    Android is an entirely different environment, with different UI and different execution model. You might be able to reuse a little of the "business logic" in a J2ME application, but not much else. Certainly there's no way to "port" without extensive rewrite.

    [However, apparently there are several commercial products that purport to do the conversion automatically (or at least semi-automatically). And at least one product which supposedly creates a J2ME environment on Android, to allow J2ME applications to run without (explicit) modification.]
    Last edited by danhicksbyron; 2010-08-12 at 18:02.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    You can try installing J2me Runner on your android device which creates J2me environment on Android devices help us in running any J2me app which can now be OTA installed on the device via this app and run within it.
    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    (Champion of the Month -Aug'13)
    Follow me on my blog for Innovative Mobile Apps

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    Quote Originally Posted by gaurav.gupta View Post
    I tested on Samsung galaxy spica GT15700.
    Then it means that Samsung galaxy spica GT15700 must be having some J2me Runner type of application installed out of box on it --- if you not loaded it on your own.
    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    (Champion of the Month -Aug'13)
    Follow me on my blog for Innovative Mobile Apps

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    You cannot run J2ME on Android mobile phones (although they are both derivations of JVM). You have a number of choices - you can rewrite your app for Android, or use a service that converts J2ME to Android.

    UpOnTek provides such a service. The service is semi-automatic, which means that after a conversion takes place one of our experts evaluates the Android application and makes recommendation how to optimize and tweek for the Android platform. Try it for free for eval purposes - send me your app and I will return an Android apk. Applications are converted within 1 business day.

    Michal.Geva@upOnTek.com

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    941

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    Just click on this link -- http://www.netmite.com/android/srv/2.0/getapk.php

    upload your j2me jad/jar and download the APK, try on Android devce.
    Thanks,
    Ekta

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?


  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: How to run J2me application in Android mobile?

    If you develop your J2ME application using LWUIT, you can easily port it to Android without having to rebuild it from scratch.

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME on Android
    By ingsaurabh in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-10-11, 05:07
  2. How to run j2me application on windows mobile?
    By ajitkumar26 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-08-04, 10:49
  3. Replies: 34
    Last Post: 2009-04-14, 13:47
  4. run j2me application from symbian c++ application
    By rkmohanty in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-08-27, 15:28
  5. My application run perfectly on Emulator but can't run on mobile device (Socket)
    By x1054 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-11-07, 21:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×