×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Hi, I use the QT for symbian SDK 1.0, and write some UI application. The look and feel in the simulator always different in the real device. such as I called QWidget::showFullScreen(), in real deive it works well, but in simulator it does not fullscreen. Other UI application always has these kind of problem.

    Any ideas?
    [I][COLOR="Orange"]xhsoldier[/COLOR][/I]
    [email]xhsoldier@gmail.com[/email]/[email]xhsoldier@163.com[/email]

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    35

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    I too have found problems with using Qt Simulator. So much so that I have given up with it other than testing how an initial UI looks. I spent over a day trying to figure out what I was doing wrong with a QMessageBox that caused it to display mostly off the screen with no visible buttons. Eventually I decided to try it on my N97 and the QMessageBox worked perfectly. After that I have been testing using the N97.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    The epoc emulator works better. Don't know how/if you can lash it up with Qt SDK, though.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    2,326

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Hi, I use the QT for symbian SDK 1.0, and write some UI application. The look and feel in the simulator always different in the real device. such as I called QWidget::showFullScreen(), in real deive it works well, but in simulator it does not fullscreen. Other UI application always has these kind of problem.

    Any ideas?
    Hi, XHsoldier

    Instead of this QWidget::showFullScreen() ,you can try QWidget::showMaximized ().
    And try it.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    because, in the near future, all the application in symbian will be QT
    [I][COLOR="Orange"]xhsoldier[/COLOR][/I]
    [email]xhsoldier@gmail.com[/email]/[email]xhsoldier@163.com[/email]

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    I guessthe showMaximized is quite different from showFullScreen
    I want full screen, even hide the status and menu bar.
    [I][COLOR="Orange"]xhsoldier[/COLOR][/I]
    [email]xhsoldier@gmail.com[/email]/[email]xhsoldier@163.com[/email]

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    331

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    It's better to use device...
    As you know, in simulator all things won't work. If you are not comfortable with Simulator, then use Carbide epoc Emulator for running your application.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    35

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by RajeevSahu View Post
    If you are not comfortable with Simulator, then use Carbide epoc Emulator for running your application.
    But how is it possible to get the epoc emulator to run from Qt Creator?

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    331

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by boddison View Post
    But how is it possible to get the epoc emulator to run from Qt Creator?
    No.
    You have to build your project using Carbide.c++, so that it'll run on Epoc Emulator.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    35

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by RajeevSahu View Post
    You have to build your project using Carbide.c++, so that it'll run on Epoc Emulator.
    I understood that Carbide was being phased out and replaced with Qt Creator.

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    331

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by boddison View Post
    I understood that Carbide was being phased out and replaced with Qt Creator.
    Yes that's true, but for testing purpose, Carbide is a very good option.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    35

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by RajeevSahu View Post
    Yes that's true, but for testing purpose, Carbide is a very good option.
    I'm having quite enough difficulty setting up the SDK to work correctly with Qt Creator - I'm not sure I need the extra workload of making Carbide.c++ work as well - LoL. I have got it 'installed' but certainly not set up. Perhaps when Qt Creator is working properly without the need to add INCLUEPATH statements in the PRO file I'll try setting up Carbide as well.

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    331

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Hey...

    If possible please post the details of tools and sdks you have installed! By looking those one can figure out the problem, i guess.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    35

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    Quote Originally Posted by RajeevSahu View Post
    If possible please post the details of tools and sdks you have installed! By looking those one can figure out the problem, i guess.
    I've installed Qt Creator 2.0.0 with Qt 4.7 and Nokia SDK 4.6.3, Qt Mobility 1.1.0 (not sure I've got this in the right place!) and Nokia N97 SDK v1.0 and v1.0.2
    There has been some discussion with screen shots over on this thread.

    With regard to the original problem, I have got all the classes to be recognised during build without any INCLUDEPATH statements in the PRO file but Qt Creator complains that it can't find the QtMobility APIs even though it can build them. Also the network classes build but crash the application on the device when I get as far as using them - I suspect this is a build issue and not a code issue as the code for this is mostly copied from examples.

  15. #15
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    331

    Re: QT for symbian simulator does not work well

    I have installed only the followings:

    1)Qt for Symbian by Nokia v4.6.3
    2)Nokia Qt SDK
    3)S60 5th edition SDK

    For my case, everything is working fine. I am facing some problems only running Qt Mobility related applications.
    Last edited by RajeevSahu; 2010-08-20 at 13:47.

Similar Threads

  1. Symbian ^3 0.8 and Qt 4.6.3 wont work together without patching wont link
    By jimgilmour1 in forum Tools and SDK Feedback (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-07-20, 08:04
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-30, 01:17
  3. Symbian^3 SDK v0.8 and Qt: how does it work?
    By AltoRetrato in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-06-18, 17:48
  4. Nokia Qt SDK, QT Simulator and virtual keyboards
    By donald@anasim.com in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-05-29, 09:33
  5. [Nokia Qt SDK] Qt Simulator does not update UI
    By pixsta in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-05-19, 21:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×