×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15

    unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    Hi all.


    I encountering a problem in today;
    I installing SDK's but Carbide does not see this SDK's...

    I ,installing this SDK's today;
    S60 3rd Edition ,
    S60 3rd Edition FP1,
    S60 3rd Edition FP 2
    S60 2nd Edition FP3..

    but Carbide v2.3 does not see SDK's...

    I want to develop applications for N70 and N95 / N73.
    I installing Series60 2nd Edition FP3 and Series60 3rd Edition (not FP1 and not FP2,only 3rd edition)..

    I entering on the command line prompt:
    devices and printing installed sdks on the command line screen and I entering this code to the command line prompt and I encountering the "Unable to access Devices.xml!" error.

    devices -setdefault @S60_3rd_Fp1:com.nokia.s60.

    I installed/uninstalled the sdks several times...

    What is source of this problems??
    ı using Win7...

    Please help.
    sorry for my bad English...
    Best Regards
    Turkey...
    I am sorry for my bad English...
    Excuse me...

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    જુનાગઢ - India
    Posts
    3,034

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    In Win7, device.xml file is in a protected folder (C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symbian\ ) , so you must login as administrator before accessing it from command prompt.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    Hi friends !!
    Hello savaj.
    Thank you for your reply.
    My problem is solved.
    I changed default sdk.

    But, Why Carbide does not see the sdks?
    What is problem?

    Thanks to everybody...
    Best Regards.
    Ismail
    Turkey
    I am sorry for my bad English...
    Excuse me...

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,572

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    Carbide.c++ also works with devices.xml.
    SDK-s should be installed with right-click+Run as Administrator..., otherwise they may fail enlisting themselves into that file, thus Carbide.c++ can not find them automatically.
    However you may still succeed with adding them manually: Window/Preferences, Carbide.c++/SDK Preferences.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    Hi all, hi wizard_hu!
    I re-installed Carbide and sdks and I run Carbide as administrator and seeing the sdks . :)

    But I have encountering a problem again;
    When I running the emulator , this screen comes ;


    and when I press the "Next" button,It does not anything.
    What is source of this problem?

    I am wondering,just I encountering this problems?

    Thanks.
    Best Regards...
    I am sorry for my bad English...
    Excuse me...

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bhavnagar
    Posts
    928

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    After using SDK for few days It will ask you to regester your product with nokia. Thats why you are shown this sscreen. Dont worry this registration is free. Not sure why it is not proceeding when you click next.
    Jajal Mehul

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    I pressing the "Next" button but it does not anything...
    This screen no progress...
    When I prssing this button not be any progress....

    Sorry for my bad Eng.
    I am sorry for my bad English...
    Excuse me...

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,572

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    That Next button is supposed to bring you to a screen where you can type your FN user name and the registration key which you get.
    Usually it works, you could try what happens if you reboot your computer and simply start the emulator from the Start Menu.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15

    Re: unable to access Devices.xml ! error...

    Hi all.
    Hi wizard_hu!

    I was previously registered several times the emulator on WinVista, I know.. :)
    Anyway,
    I choose the "I do not have internet connection" section on this screen and I press the "Next" button.After,It gave me a product key...
    And I entered "this page" on web browser and I entering the product key on textbox area in this page and the serial number was sent to my e-mail address and I registered the emulator..

    Now,The emulator is running smoothly ...

    Thanks to all for your helps and replies.... (Hepinize çok teşekkür ederim... :) )
    NOKIA 'yı seviyorum !!! ;)

    Best Regards
    Turkey
    İsmail YEŞİLYURT
    I am sorry for my bad English...
    Excuse me...

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to access Devices.xml
    By mario_hendarwan in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-11-25, 16:46
  2. Devices and XML file
    By Tnathos in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-08-10, 07:20
  3. Flashlite: load Xml on real devices problem
    By ngocnhan in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-12-18, 07:14
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-08-13, 07:57
  5. Vista Devices.xml problem
    By kdurga in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-08-28, 11:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •