×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    272

    Question How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    These might be silly questions, but I'm new with Symbian. Up till now I've been working with Maemo.

    1. How to change the application name visible in the Symbian device with Qt Creator?

    2. How to change the application version with Qt Creator?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    Application name is taken from TARGET variable, or if it's empty, then it will be a project file name
    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.6/qmake-v...ce.html#target
    Version is taken from VERSION variable
    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.6/qmake-v...e.html#version

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    272

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Application name is taken from TARGET variable, or if it's empty, then it will be a project file name
    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.6/qmake-v...ce.html#target
    Thanks, that seem to work. However, I don't seem to be able to use a name with spaces, such as "My App", in TARGET. It doesn't seem to work. How can I have a name with spaces?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    England,UK
    Posts
    1,600

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
    Thanks, that seem to work. However, I don't seem to be able to use a name with spaces, such as "My App", in TARGET. It doesn't seem to work. How can I have a name with spaces?

    Cheers
    Hi,
    Unfortunately "spaces" in all Nokia or Symbian SDK, are not allowed, spaces cause chaos.
    "C:\Program Files" being one of the worst problems.
    The seems from around the 1990's when a "space" was chosen as a terminator.
    In most cases I use the "_" underscore so you could use "My_App".
    If I remember early versions of Carbide would silently fail.
    Hence we ended up with "S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0"

    Thanks
    Jim
    Last edited by jimgilmour1; 2010-11-17 at 16:34.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    There is a way to do it, but you have to fudge with generated files somehow.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    63

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    So how? and which files to mess with?

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    I think you change the .loc file. And then write-protect it so it doesn't get regenerated every time you do a build.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    To have spaces in the application name you can use DEPLOYMENT.display_name in the Qt project file (*.pro), ex:

    DEPLOYMENT.display_name = "Your App Name"

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?

    Quote Originally Posted by mswierczynski View Post
    To have spaces in the application name you can use DEPLOYMENT.display_name in the Qt project file (*.pro), ex:

    DEPLOYMENT.display_name = "Your App Name"
    Works great

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Creator code completion not working with Qt Mobility for Symbian
    By ceefour in forum [Archived] Qt Mobility Project
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-09-10, 05:02
  2. S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1_0 + Qt creator 2.0 + qt-symbian-opensource-4.7.0-beta1配置问题?
    By fish_of_deadsea in forum [Archived] Qt General ( Qt技术)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-05-30, 06:11
  3. Qt Creator cannot conntect to App TRK
    By atonical in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-04-29, 09:18
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-18, 11:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×