Discussion Board

Qt SDK and Nokia's 'signing Symbian apps for free'

Hello Symbian gurus,

I am a long time J2ME dev with quite some desktop C++ experience but very little knowledge of Qt or Symbian C++. Recently, after hearing that Nokia is now signing Symbian ( and Qt ) apps for free, I am trying out Qt SDK. It's quite neat, however I've got one problem.

I use the latest version of Qt SDK for Linux, updated today. I also use Remote Compiler. Compiling an a) unsigned b) self-signed binaries for Symbian S60 5th ed both work fine.

What does not seem to work is compiling the binary and signing it with my dev cert.

I applied to Nokia for more details about this 'free signing' initiative, they sent me 5 UIDs, a certificate and a key file. Now I try to use them in the following way:

- in Qt SDK -> Projects -> Targets -> Remote Compiler -> Build Steps I set 'sis type' to 'smart installer' and in the 'symbian signing' section I give the location of my certificate and key files. Password is empty.

- in the .pro file, I add the following section

symbian {
    TARGET.UID3 = 0x2xxxxxxx # one of the UIDs I got from Nokia
    }

and I try to compile. Remote compiler responds with:

Code:
    (...)
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/leszek/NokiaQtSDK/Projects/HelloWorld'
    make -s -f Makefile sis

file I/O fault, cannot open c/wcc/build/home/leszek/NokiaQtSDK/Projects/HelloWorld//.cert/OVI_08-30-2010.crt.

SIS creation failed!
    make -s -f Makefile ok_installer_sis
    Error  Cannot find file  C/home/leszek/NokiaQtSDK/Projects/HelloWorld/HelloWorld.sis
    (28) : error: file I/O fault.
    file I/O fault, cannot open helloworld_installer_unsigned.sis.

SIS creation failed!
    Build Failed: Errors in build
    Error while building project HelloWorld (target: Remote compiler)
    When executing build step ''
    The same procedure works if I leave the 'certificate' and 'key' editboxes empty, but of course in this case the resulting .sis is self-signed.