×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    13

    data input through gui screen

    hai to all,
    iam devloping programs in s60 5th edition platform using nokia 5800 mobile. It have gui screen and no keypads . In my program, I need to give data input when the program runs in mobile. So my question is, How can i give data input through gui screen. Please help me........Thanks in advance.....

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: data input through gui screen

    Hi,

    What component are you using for data input? If you use any editor for data input and when u tap on that vkb (virtual keyboard) will automatically apper to you.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,168

    Re: data input through gui screen

    what have you tried ?, basically just use input controls like text-editors, and once user clicks them, the virtual key board will be opened.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: data input through gui screen

    how can i use text editor in my program to give input....any codes are there

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,168

    Re: data input through gui screen

    you could maybe check SDK examples, I'm rather sure they would have something in there, or do check our wiki exmaples.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,569

    Re: data input through gui screen

    You say you're developing for a 5800, but have you actually a 5800 and have you tried to use it? Have you tried to write a message or add a contact? Have you noticed how when you click on a text field/control that a "virtual" keyboard comes up allowing you to enter text?

    That's standard behaviour with a form/dialog and text entry fields/controls. It'd probably be a good idea, if you took a look at the SDK documentation and examples, and may also the articles and examples in the wiki for developing S60 user interfaces.

    List of examples here: http://www.forum.nokia.com/Develop/O...Code_examples/

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    13

    Re: data input through gui screen

    I have been seen that virtual keyboard in mobile application.How can i impliment this virtual keyboard in my program.thats my question

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,168

    Re: data input through gui screen

    You don't need to do anything special, you just use the input controls, and they'll handle the virtual keyboar issues if necessary.

Similar Threads

  1. data value display in gui screen
    By vijayannair in forum Symbian
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-07-01, 09:03
  2. getting input from user thru GUI
    By vijayannair in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-06-09, 07:41
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-06-12, 09:14
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-03-16, 03:21
  5. How to get numeric input from user in Text mode(NOT GUI)???
    By Amit Mahajan in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-04-13, 05:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×